A Q&A with Author, Susanne Meyer-Fitzsimmons – @susannemf

Hello, bloggers!

Today, we will be enjoying an entertaining Q&A with Susanne Meyer-Fitzsimmons, author of DEEP LIVING: HEALING YOURSELF TO HEAL THE PLANET. We’ll be talking about her book, her writing, and her life. So, as always, please enjoy……


DSC03019

1) Your first book, DEEP LIVING: Healing Yourself To Heal The Planet, which melds green living, cultural criticism, inspirational eco-ecology, and wisdom for a happier life in these turbulent times, was published this spring.  How is DEEP LIVING different from the many other books on green living?

This morning I took a walk through a small development.  After a while I noticed that I kept going round and round.  I had gotten lost – go figure. Had I had a map I would have found my way back easily; but without a map I finally had to ask someone.  DEEP LIVING proposes a very broad interpretation of what’s currently going on in the world, and offers a roadmap, as if you took the elevator to the top of a very very tall skyscraper and looked down upon the earth.  At the same time, DEEP LIVING has very practical down-to-earth suggestions for getting out of the rut of everyday existence, and creating a much more meaningful, healthy, and sustainable life, in line with that new vision.

2) You allude to the world being in turmoil.  The media spreads a lot of negativity, many people are anxious and depressed, we have a lot of grave environmental problems, a lot of social issues.  What’s going on?

DEEP LIVING has a grander vision of what’s going on and how to navigate our seemingly turbulent times, not only successfully and joyfully, but with creativity, excitement, and perhaps most importantly, empowerment and agency.  Without spoiling the read, suffice it to say that when we have a map, things no longer seem so chaotic.

3) So how do we find meaning in everyday life?

We need to live deeply, switch to a value-based way of thinking and away from  the constant quantification of “how much” and “how fast,” which leaves us empty.  In a very practical way DEEP LIVING shows how to connect in deeply meaningful ways with Nature, each other, our bodies and how we heal, our food, how we grow it, how we think of it, and how we eat it.  And DEEP LIVING models how to imagine a more sustainable, more beautiful, more spiritual, more socially just, more co-operative, good-for-all, and not just good-for-some, culture, than our current one.   Ultimately, it’s a practical book.

4) What’s the story behind DEEP LIVING?  What made you write this book? 

Having children and wanting to protect them from the rougher aspects of our culture, such as environmental and household toxins, harsh language, invasive medical procedures, and unhealthy foods, sent me on this adventure in order to find a better way.  However, the groundwork for my spiritual search was laid during my teen years in Europe when I went through some deep soul searching on why mankind produces such atrocities as wars, torture, and genocides.

5) What do you do when you don’t write?

People, food, experiences.  I love being, talking, eating, and doing with people.  A few days ago I brought the whole family to a Sunday morning past-life regression meditation.  I love reading about cultural and spiritual things.  On a different note, growing up in France and Belgium profoundly shaped my relationship with food.  “Let food be thy medicine,” and making food your ally, not your enemy, are my big mottos.  I love good food and good conversation.

6) What are you working on now that your book is finished?

I am in the very early stages of working with a documentary filmmaker on conceiving a pilot to secure financing to make a documentary from the book.  I am very excited about this project because it came out of nowhere – one of life’s serendipities.   Recently I bought the TED Talks book and am envisioning a TED Talk about the book’s broad ideas sometime in the future.  In addition, I am training in NVC – nonviolent or compassionate communication – and doing a lot of community work to spread the word and sow NVC seeds in our community.  Ultimately I live by Gandhi’s phrase to “be the change you wish to see in the world.”

7) How can our readers find out more about you, your work, your events, and where can they find the book, now that you’ve made us curious?

I invite you to check out my website at www.susannemeyerfitzsimmons.com and signing up for my bi-weekly holistic living blog and occasional newsletter about ongoing events.  The website has a direct link to my book on Amazon.  I am also on the usual social media suspects Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Instagram and Pinterest.

DL Cover
DEEP LIVING: HEALING  YOURSELF TO HEAL THE PLANET


Thanks so much for stopping by! I hope you enjoyed today’s post as much as I did! Please help in supporting Susanne with likes, shares, and comments. Also, do yourself a favor and check out her book.

Until next time, lovelies…………………………Happy Reading & Reviewing!!

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

