Meet Author, Karen Ingalls – @KIngallsAuthor

Hello, bloggers!

I am pleased to welcome this lovely lady to my blog today – Author, Karen Ingalls. Karen is truly an inspiration to anyone she meets, even virtually. Her story is one that I am so happy to be sharing, and I know you’ll enjoy it……


karen
WHO IS THE REAL ME?

My birth month is March and the date is 7, which means I was born under the sign of Pisces. According to astrology which I enjoy for fun whether it is true or not, I have the following characteristics:
Strengths: compassionate, artistic, intuitive, and gentle
Weaknesses: Overly trusting, fearful, can be a victim or martyr.
Likes: music, romance, spirituality
Dislikes: arrogance, cruelty, being criticized

That clearly describes me. The enneagram personality test where I was described an INFJ some forty years ago also lets you know who I am. INFJ means introversion, intuitive, feeling, judging. We are most fulfilled when helping others. We are also less than one percent of the population.

I started writing short stories and poems as a preteen but never shared them with anyone. I sketched a lot of pictures and loved my art classes in high school. I dreamed of being a doctor, but chose to be a nurse with an emphasis in psychology. I had my own nursing service for over twenty years as a nurse therapist. I called it “Kare ‘N Touch,” where I offered counseling, healing, biofeedback, and therapeutic massage on a sliding fee scale.

I learned about holistic medicine and spirituality from my grandmother and adopted aunt. Their influences have helped to make me who I am. When I was diagnosed with cancer my coping method of journaling became my first published book, “Outshine: An Ovarian Cancer Memoir.” The book has won awards and gave me the courage to continue to write.

My other two books are novels both based on real events and people. “Novy’s Son” speaks to the problem of fathers unable to teach their sons how to be fathers themselves. It is based on the theory of the loss of “Iron John” popularized by Robert Bly.

“Davida: Model & Mistress of Augustus Saint-Gaudens” is my third book, which is about America’s premier sculptor from 1800-1920 who had a love affair with his model. From that love they had one child, my grandfather. This book has won one award.

My family history is complex filled with dysfunction of alcoholism, abuse, untimely deaths, drug addiction, and abandonment. Coming from such a family with my high sensitivity, caring, spirituality, and compassion it was only natural that I would be in both the medical field and a writer. I learned early on the importance to learn from life’s events and become a better person as a result.

I try to bring my life experiences to my two blogs. One is about health/wellness, relationships, and spirituality at www.outshineovariancancer.blogspot.com. My second blog is designed for authors and avid readers at www.kareningalls.blogspot.com, where I support authors, promote books, and increase awareness about the art of writing. I always welcome authors as guests.

I enjoy my life of “retirement” here in Florida. I do not feel retired because I spend a lot of time writing, promoting, advocating for ovarian and other gynecologic cancers, and doing presentations. I relax by gardening, fishing, golfing, and reading. I stay active with Rave Reviews Book Club, which has been one of the best experiences in my short life as a published author. I love to give support to my fellow indie authors and am so appreciative of their support to me.

My many thanks to Marlena for welcoming me to her site. It is my honor to be here.

Pinterest
Facebook
Website
LinkedIn
GoodReads
BlogSpot 1
BlogSpot 2
Amazon

*  *  *

outshineOUTSHINE: AN OVARIAN CANCER MEMOIR

novyNOVY’S SON: THE SELFISH GENIUS

davidaDAVIDA: MODEL & MISTRESS OF AUGUSTUS SAINT-GAUDENS


Thanks so much for stopping by today and visiting with us! Please help in supporting Karen with likes, shares, and comments. Also, do yourself a favor and check out her must-read books!

Until next time, lovelies…………………Happy Reading & Reviewing!!!

3 Comments

  1. Hi Karen! Your 3 book covers are beautiful and it sounds like you live a very meaningful life there in sunny Florida. It is so wonderful of you to champion so many great charities and spend your days getting your books into readers hands. That’s exactly how I would want to spend my retirement too, perhaps doing the same even abroad! Thanks for sharing with all of us!

  2. Hi, Karen. Whenever I take a personality test I am always a INFJ or INFP (the last trait waffles for me in the 50ish range), so I can relate to your outlook on many things. You’ve faced a lot in your life and I applaud you for the strength you’ve gained in return. I’ve read Novy’s Son and found it a riveting story. Davida is already downloaded on my Kindle and is on my TBR.

    It’s lovely to see you here today on Marlena’s blog. Mar, thanks for hosting and shining the spotlight on Karen!

  3. Hi Karen, I’ve loved each of your books. Perhaps even more importantly, I respect and value your journey – through the challenges and into the strength you beautifully embody. I’m an INFP, though when I was working in college administration, I drifted to INFJ at times. So, we share a lot of similar traits.

    Thank you for keeping all of us alert to cancer’s toll and to its universal impact. Your voice settles deep into our hearts. All the best to you…

Leave a Reply

