Meet KM Fortune – Awakening Author Q&A – @km_fortune

Hello, bloggers!

I am so excited about today’s guest – Author, KM Fortune!! KM has a unique approach to writing sci-fi and I can’t wait for you to learn more about her and her writing. She has a great story to tell and I sincerely hope you enjoy……


Why don’t you tell us a little about yourself.

Thank you, Marlena. It is an honor and a privilege to be featured on your blog today. I’ll admit, as a new author, your invitation to be a guest blogger is my first opportunity. I hope I can live up to the other great posts I’ve read on your site.

I am also excited to be here today because it is launch day for my first novel, “Awakening”. I am nearly overwhelmed by all the emotion I am feeling in this moment. The road to bringing my story to reality was long and at times a little bumpy, but now here we are and it is happening. No matter what the future holds, I am proud of the work and hopefully it will bring some entertainment to readers who give it a chance.

That is exciting. We are glad you are here and we can share in your big day.  What is the novel you are launching?

Awakening_just cover_small

I’m releasing my little book “Awakening” today. It is a science fiction adventure and is especially unique because it is the first episode in the greater serial novel named “The Forever Winter Chronicles.” When I say little, I am not exaggerating. It is just over ninety pages. Not too many other authors I am aware of, in science-fiction anyway, are writing short cumulative works. The scifi genre is more known for giant two hundred thousand word plus epic novels. I have no idea if the world is ready for my approach. Time will tell. I had to give it a try.

Interesting. So then why go with a serial novel?

A couple reasons. For one, I wanted to have a chance for people to start enjoying “The Forever Winter Chronicles” now. If I waited for the whole novel to be 100% finished, it would take two or three years. I have already outlined it through the 6th book in the series and I would estimate that to be about a third of the way through the adventure. By releasing a new episode every one to two months, the reader can follow along and look forward to what happens next.

The second reason is based on my research of the modern consumer. Attention spans are becoming shorter and people tend to enjoy “binging” on content. My serial novel addresses both of those trends. If a person wants to be entertained for a couple hours without making a long commitment, Raven Winter and her trials in “Awakening” are a perfect answer, however, if the person wants more, the rest of the serial novels are laid out to deliver a full epic adventure.

I think your idea is brilliant! Now, you mentioned Raven Winter. Who is she?

Raven Winter is the primary character in the chronicles. Everything revolves around her to some degree. I love Raven. I never intended to write the novels around a strong female hero, but somehow, here she is running around my dystopian winter wasteland of America. Things are tough for her though. Through a series of events I won’t give away, she is accidentally frozen and then awakened over a hundred years in the future. It would be like if you or I suddenly woke up and everyone we knew was long dead and we were left to fend for ourselves. In a nuclear war ravaged world, no less.

No, it doesn’t sound like a good time at all. I will admit I am very intrigued. The book is available now?

Yes it is. It went wide today as both an eBook and in paperback. It’s all very exciting. I’ve never done any of this before so regardless of the outcome, it is all fun. Like being able to do this guest blog. I would never have imagined a year ago I would be doing this and yet it is happening. Thank you again for the opportunity.

It is my pleasure. What happens for you next?

The future is busy and bright. I am working to arrange an audio version of “Awakening”. I feel there is a developing trend toward audiobooks and so it is worth exploring. Editing of the second book “Survival” is also a primary focus. It is with proof-readers now and will be released on May 27th, although I do have it up for preorder everywhere right now. The third book in the serial, ”Discovery”, is in my final writing phase and then it will start the editing cycle. I have that book in preorder as well. And then there is book four, five, six … you get the idea. The positive of a serial novel is the continual new content, but it does keep me hopping. I sure wouldn’t change it though. I’ve always dreamed of being a published author and today, well, I am.

Yay for you!! And a big congrats on such an amazing accomplishment, as well as the coming adventure.

Thank you again, Marlena. This was a lot of fun. Who knows? Maybe in a year we can do this again and see how “The Forever Winter Chronicles” has done. I have a good feeling about it.

As do I. Come back any time, KM! It’s been a joy to have you visit.

Follow KM Fortune:

 Twitter
Facebook
Amazon
Goodreads

*  *  *

“Awakening” – Book I: The Forever Winter Chronicles is for a sale at

Amazon
Barnes&Noble
Kobo
iBooks
and other eBook retailers

*  *  * 

About the Author

KMFORTUNE_AUTHOR

KM Fortune first decided to write an epic post-apocalyptic novel in a serial format when her favorite nephew begged her to write him a science fiction book “with lots of characters and cool stuff but don’t make it too long.” Trying to accommodate the millennial’s psyche, she created a dangerous new world filled with heroines and heroes, mutants and monsters. Drawing on her years of professional business writing experience, the intrigue and adventure quickly unfolded onto the pages of her exciting, short novel, AWAKENING – BOOK I: THE FOREVER WINTER CHRONICLES.

KM Fortune lives in Salem, Oregon with her family. Feedback from readers is always welcome. Email comments and questions to kmfortune.author@gmail.com.


Thank you so much for visiting with us today. I hope you enjoyed today’s guest interview as much as I did. Please help in supporting KM with likes, shares, and comments.

Until next time…………………Happy Reading & Reviewing!!!

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

