Author, Books, RRBC, Writing

Meet Author, Staci Troilo – Family

Hello, bloggers!

I am thrilled to open my virtual doors to the lovely Staci Troilo. Today, we get a wonderful glimpse into this author’s mind, her inspiration, her life. No doubt you’ll enjoy what she has to say…


What is Family?

Hi, Marlena. Thanks for inviting me to visit with you and your readers today. I’m happy to be here.

I’m one of six authors involved with Story Empire, a group dedicated to pooling our collective writing/publishing/marketing experience and sharing it with others in our fields. This week, we’ve expanded on our industry posts and banded together to take our show on the road. In other words, we’re hosting each other on book tours.

My focus during the tour is on my Medici Protectorate series. I’ll be releasing book three this summer. Book one, Bleeding Heart, and book two, Mind Control, are already available and on sale this week.

This series is dear to me because the original concept came from my grandfather’s heritage. Granted, it’s expanded into so much more, but the start came from him, and as he’s no longer with us, I feel close to him every time I discuss or work on the saga.

Those of you who know me know that family is of paramount importance to me. As the years have progressed and I’ve moved far from my extended family, I’ve come to believe that family isn’t just blood. It’s who you invite into your life and love unconditionally. For example, I have my immediate family—my husband, son, and daughter (and the dogs, if you count non-humans). I have my extended family—parents, siblings, nieces, nephews, grandmother, aunts, uncles, cousins, in-laws, etc. These are my blood relatives (or blood relatives of my husband and kids).

But then there are the people who have become family—my Ohio next door neighbor turned best friend, my publishing family who embraced me and my work from the beginning, and my Story Empire family who work with me, laugh with me, indulge me, and support me unconditionally. I’m not related to any of them, but we’re family.

Family is actually a theme I address in many of my works. Mystery Heir focuses on father-child relationships. A major theme in Type and Cross is whether blood defines family. And family is a concept that’s explored in great detail in the Medici Protectorate series.

The Medici Protectorate series follows the four Notaro sisters, women prophesied to assume rule in Italy and return the country to its former glory. These women are the quintessential “family.” They’re related to each other by blood, and they are blood descendants of the Medici line—a fact that forms the basis of the saga.

The Medici Protectorate is destined to protect this family through the years. Four warriors each generation form a Brotherhood and watch over their charges. These are the Brothers, and they become family to each other.

In the generation the series focuses on, the Brothers are actually four men who lived together as children in an orphanage in Italy. When they were young, they were told they were being adopted and were sent to the US to live with a very wealthy man who they came to learn was the benefactor of the Order. These men are adoptive brothers (lower case b/common noun) as well as Brothers of the Order (upper case B/proper noun). Both of these relationships are based on the strongest of bonds. Are they any less significant because they aren’t forged in blood and heritage?

I don’t think so. Family is family, no matter how it’s forged. And I have fun playing with the dynamics of all these groups.

Aside from the obvious family elements, these books have everything—romance, drama, action, alchemy, prophecy, culture, mythology, famous people, infamous organizations, legend. I think they appeal to a wide audience… a new family of readers I hope to bond with. My reading family.

Thanks again for hosting me today, Marlena. It was fun talking about what family means to me and how it plays out in the Medici Protectorate series.

You can learn more about this work if you follow me on the Story Empire Roadshow tour, or visit my website: http://stacitroilo.com.

Series Premise: The four Notaro sisters are the secret legacy of the Medici, famed rulers of Italy. Michelangelo promised his Medician benefactor that he’d always watch over the family, and as such, he formed the Medici Protectorate to guard them throughout the generations. Now, Italy is in political turmoil and revolution is imminent. The people are calling for new rulers, and the Notaros are poised to assume control. But a nefarious opposing faction wants the power for themselves. Never was the family in more jeopardy. The four sisters are protected by the Brotherhood—four elite warriors of the Medici Protectorate prophesied to keep the family safe until they fulfill their destinies. They journey around the world in an effort to keep the family safe and the future of Italy secure.

BLEEDING HART
Book One, Bleeding Heart:
Gianni, a warrior destined to defend the secret legacy of the Medici, protects his charge Francesca from a prophesied assassin. Their worlds collide in passion and violence, and he must conquer her fears and his demons in time to save them both.

MIND CONTROL
Book Two, Mind Control:
Vinnie copes with his own identity issues while he struggles to protect the one prophesized Medici descendant, Jo, who refuses to embrace her heritage. With lives in peril, can they find the strength to overcome their tragic pasts, or is it too late?

Book Three, Body Armor: Nico works to increase his powers and save the Notaro family matriarch, but his private agendas put his charge Donni’s life at risk. When secrets and lies result in three abductions, the group will need to place their trust him to save them all.


Troilo b&wABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Staci Troilo has always loved fiction, ever since her parents read her fairy tales when she was a young girl. Today, her interests are much more eclectic. She loves getting lost in sci-fi battles, fantasy realms, horror worlds, suspenseful intrigues, and romantic entanglements.

As goes her reading, so goes her writing. She can’t pick a single genre to focus on, so she doesn’t even try. She’s proud to say she’s a multi-genre author.

When she’s not reading or writing, she’s spending time with family and friends, possibly cooking for them, or maybe enjoying an afternoon in the pool. To learn more about her, visit http://stacitroilo.com/.

Social Media Links:
Web | Blog | Newsletter Signup | Twitter | Amazon | Additional Social Media Links


Thank you so much for visiting with us today. Please show this awesome guest some support with likes, shares and comments!

Until next time, lovlies……………Happy Reading & Reviewing!!

27 thoughts on “Meet Author, Staci Troilo – Family”

  1. What a lovely post, Staci. I have read your Cathedral Lake series and loved it. And just this afternoon, have purchased your first two books in the Medici Protectorate Series … can’t wait to get reading! :)

    Mar, thanks for always being such a supportive host :)

  2. This is such a touching post, Staci. I too, consider people who are not blood-related to me to be family. I know have two extended families from that aspect – my music family whom I love with all my heart and my writing family who help me so much with my endeavors. Hugs to you, sweet lady! Your books sound absolutely delicious. My Kindle is bursting at the seams and I don’t even know what I have on it at this point, but I will double check to make sure book 1 of this series is downloaded! Thanks for hosting, Mar.

    1. Jan, I grew up in a close-knit family in a very small town. Those bonds… they’re ingrained at such an early age. I was raised to welcome everyone, and once we moved out of state, I had a kind of rocky adjustment. I was no longer in a small town, and people were more reserved, detached. It took a lot of work in that environment to show our kids that family could be found anywhere, but I’m happy to say Hubby and I were successful in doing so. We moved around a lot, but our kids are very well adjusted, make friends very easily, and know the importance of family—whomever that may be.

      I love that you embraced your writing family and your music family. (Is it too cheesy to say that’s music to my ears?)

      Thanks for the comment and the support, Jan. (Believe me, I know all about the over-full Kindle!)

  3. I loved this post. Family is such an important aspect of my life as well. Not just my immediate and extended family, but the family I’ve made online as well. From SE to RRBC and my blogging cohorts. When it comes to books, family relationships are a a theme I’m drawn to, both as reader and writer.

    I’ve read all the books mentioned in Staci’s posts, and they’re fabulous. Right now I’m eagerly looking forward to book 3 of the Medici Protectorate series.

    Thanks for hosting Staci today, Marlena. Wonderful to see her here!

  4. What an interesting concept of using the Medici family in your story and making it about family. I added the first book to my kindle and I am excited to read it soon:)

    Thanks for hosting Marlena!

  5. A lovely post, Staci! I agree, wholeheartedly, that the bond of family runs much deeper than bloodline. Wishing you a wonderful week. :)
    Thank you, Marlena, for the warm welcome, as always!

  6. Another great post, Staci. I came very late to having a ‘family’ in the ‘traditional; interpretation of the word. That joy when it came sustained me, and my extended family of beloved friends sustains me still. These books sound too great to resist, My TBR pile just keeps growing.

Leave a Reply

