Meet Author, Larry Landgraf…

Hello, bloggers!

I hope you’re ready to dive into a new week!! I sure am! And what better way to get things started than to welcome a fab Author, and member of RRBC, to my blog.

Please help me welcome Author, Larry Landgraf. Today, we get to learn about the man behind the pen, and also learn a little about his works. Enjoy…


You want it? I’ve got it!

My name is Larry Landgraf and I’m an author. I am working on my 5th book and it has only been maybe six months since I finally realized and accepted the fact that I am an AUTHOR. I never planned on becoming an author; it’s just something I woke up one morning and realized I had become.

After finishing four years in college, I decided I didn’t want to be cooped up in an office or classroom so I began a commercial fishing career. I worked harder than most people I suspect and became strong and healthy for it. I have caught shark up to eight feet long, alligator gar up to seven feet long, and catfish up to a hundred pounds. I have also seen so many sea critters that most people will never see. I have seen schools of mullet on top of the water stretching for miles, manta rays ten feet across, more different kinds of crabs than I can count, but most of all, I caught tons of delicious shrimp—white shrimp, brown shrimp, rock shrimp, seabobs, and hoppers to name a few. These are not all the different kinds of shrimp either.

I also grew up on a cattle ranch, so having the land to do so, I also raised a few cattle. Our property started in an upland plot and stretched into the swamp country of the Guadalupe River delta. In 68 years, I have migrated from the upland area to the swamp country on the far end of the same property.

I no longer raise cattle and the commercial fishing career played out in the late 80s, but I love my swamp and will not live elsewhere. I ventured into commercial contracting in 1990 and did this for twenty-plus years from my home in the swamp. A severe death-defying accident inevitably led to the contracting business falling by the wayside as well.

I wrote my first book in 1986 to try to save my commercial fishing career. The book and the career failed. It wasn’t until 2012 that I decided to write another book, How to be a Smart SOB Like Me, three years after meeting Ellen, the newest love of my life, after my ex walked out in 2007. Ellen calls this book my rant. I call it my autobiography. You decide which.

One morning in January 2015, I woke up with a story in my head. I got to the computer and started writing. The next thing I knew I had written 300 pages. I had basically written another book and had to publish it. The result after much editing was Into Autumn, my debut novel. Some have said it is a little crude and needed more editing, but most have loved the book. I am a little crude at times and I can always use a little editing myself, so the book depicts me. Since I left Into Autumn hanging, there had to be a sequel. Into Spring came out in January 2017. I have decided to write a Four Seasons series so Into Winter is in progress and Into Summer will follow.

Now you know a little about me, but what do you want as a reader? Tame? Bland? Or do you want something a little spicy, gritty, out of the ordinary, and maybe at times a little too real? Then, like I said above, I’ve got it.

Life is tough, challenging, harsh, and sometimes downright cruel. Life never goes like you plan it, so you have to roll with the flow. Life will make you think, depress you if you let it, and strain your body to the core. Life is about murder, sex, and violence, yes, but life is also about love, friendship, camaraderie and working together for the common good. Life is about loss and dealing with the unexpected, planning for the future, and learning all you can learn so you’ll have the best chance at survival. That is what my books are about. No zombies, no aliens, and though electromagnetic pulses could be a possibility in our future, there are none in my books. My books are about ordinary people, with skills, who are thrust into chaos due to the collapse of the electrical grid and the ensuing calamity.

I have worked hard all my life and will continue to do so until life says I can’t. I am always learning, evolving, and putting forth my best effort. The only thing that has ever held me back was money. I am not a rich man, but no one can say that I didn’t put forth the best effort I could financially. According to the reviews of Into Autumn on Amazon there is an 85% chance you’ll love the book.

Into Spring is off and running now. Questions are answered and the next generation of Peaceful Valley are growing, learning, struggling and off on a new adventure. Will you join them?

I write Tales from the Riverside on my blog, true stories from my swamp, which I hope you will take a look at. I also create my own book trailer videos, personal videos from my travels (slide shows set to music), and design and create my own websites. I never stop learning.

Ellen and I travel to exotic locations as well as across the USA and I have been playing in the World Series of Poker every year for the past ten years. I placed in the money in the Senior’s Championship three consecutive years, so I’m a pretty good poker player too. At home, I have a 2,000 square foot garden and an orchard with about eighty fruit trees. I maintain a nine-acre yard. So how do I find time for Twitter, reading, and the numerous other websites which also take my time? Frankly, I don’t know. I did make time for this blog though. I trust you enjoyed it and will pick up copies of my books and leave reviews when you finish. I will take you on a ride which will touch all your emotions across the full spectrum. Thank you and good reading.

Larry Landgraf,
Author  :)


img_1313-3

Connect with today’s guest:

Website

Facebook

Pinterest

Twitter

Google

Linkedin

Chapter 8 from Into Autumn reading by a professional actor

Books on Amazon

1iacover-2Into Autumn trailer

1iscoverInto Spring trailer

1sobcoverSOB trailer


Thanks so much for visiting with us today! Please help me support today’s guest author with shares, comments and book purchases.

Until next time………………Happy Reading & Reviewing!!

44 Comments

  1. Larry, you are a man of great adventure and style. Two traits I admire. I read and reviewed your book Into Spring, which I did enjoy and found it to have some very creative ideas. Thank you for this interview, Marlena. It was wonderful getting to know about Larry.

  2. Wow, Larry, you have had an amazing and interesting life. I love what you’ve done and what you’re doing now. You live life grand. Good for you! Now I understand why your Twitter handle is @rivermann :)

    Marlena, thanks for hosting Larry. I enjoy learning more about the members of RRBC and their books!

  3. Hi, Larry. It is awesome to learn more about you today. I love stories about people that are so real you can feel as you know them or live next door to them, or even better yet, are them. Your books sound as fascinating as your varied life. My late husband had a saying, “the harder I work, the luckier I get,” and I would surmise that you’d agree with that. Good luck in the poker tournament this year!!! Thanks for introducing us to Larry, Marlena.

  4. Thank you Staci for dropping in and commenting. It is so hard these days to get people to notice your works. For someone to take the time to visit a blog and leave a comment is wonderful, and believe me, I notice. I look forward to getting to know you better in the coming days.

  5. Hey guys, looks like the Chapter 8 reading link on here doesn’t work, so if you’d like Chapter 8 from Into Autumn read to you by a professional actor, you’ll need to go to my website to find it under videos. Here’s the link: http://intoautumn.com/?page_id=60 it’s the second video in the list. Feel free to take a look at the others while you’re there. Sorry for the inconvenience.

  6. Thanks for sharing a few titbits of your exciting life with us, Larry! I’m looking forward to hear your “voice” when reading at least one of your books within the next three months. I hope you have a successful blog tour and thank you too, Marlena! 💐🤓💐

  7. All I can say is “WOW” when I first clicked onto your “Into Autumn” book trailer. It really grabs you. Larry I also enjoyed reading your blog. I couldn’t stop so you must be doing something right. Congratulations!! Getting to know you a little more is so much fun.

    Thanks Marlena.

  8. Hi Larry, I just finished Into Autumn and enjoyed it very much. I know several people who live off-grid, and your book helped me better understand the complexities of that lifestyle choice. All the best!!

    Mar has offered a great forum for getting to know writers better. Thanks, Mar!

  9. I have enjoyed getting to know you, Larry. What an interesting life you have led! “Into Autumn” has been at the top of my reading list for a while now, but this pushed it to the top! Now, all I can think about is a nice shrimp dinner to go along with it.
    Thanks for hosting, Marlena!

Leave a Reply

