Books, RRBC, Writing

Meet “SPOTLIGHT” Author, Rhani D’Chae…

Hello, bloggers!

Today, I am sharing my blog with RRBC “SPOTLIGHT” Author, Rhani D’Chae!

Rhani is a super supportive member of the book club, so this is a very well-deserved hot seat. She is the author of two books – SHADOW OF THE DRILL and PERILOUS THIRST.

As always… enjoy!


He Changed My Life

I met Ben when I was 14 and working for a carnival. He was of average height, slightly stocky, with thick black hair, blue eyes, and a lopsided grin that I rarely saw during my time with him. He had an amazing sense of humor – when he allowed himself to find something funny – and he had a worldview like nothing I’ve ever seen before. He was also 12 years older than me that I didn’t care. I was in love!

Together we ran the Jenny, and they were often periods of free time while we waited for enough ticket holders to climb on. Ben educated me on the ins and outs of carney life and told me the history of the world that he had called home for the last decade or so.

Ben also told me about himself and I soon saw that my first love had genuine darkness behind his enigmatic blue eyes. He had an ex-wife, and a five-year-old daughter that he hadn’t seen in years. I could tell by the way that he spoke of her that she was the most important person in his life, and it was also clear that he hated his ex for keeping her from him.

But hate was an emotion that Ben carried well. He made it clear that, in his opinion, life would systematically beat a person down until there was nothing left of mind or soul, and he considered his fellow human beings to be nails in an unavoidable coffin. Therefore, he hated people in general and walked a solitary path by choice. A rough past, the circumstances of his divorce, the banishment from his daughter’s life, and the news that he had cancer had filled him with a cynical bitterness that defied comprehension.

But the more he talked, the more his opinions and ideas made sense. So it wasn’t long before I was engraving his words onto my soul, where they became as much a part of me as my DNA.

He taught me to watch my back, guard my heart, and to never trust anyone – especially those who claimed to be my friends. This may seem like negative advice, but a young girl on the streets often attracts the worst kind of people, and I truly believe that it was his warnings that kept me alive. He was a hard man who had learned some very brutal truths.

But surprisingly, he was also a man who remembered what it was to walk through life with hope in his heart and the promise of tomorrow stretching out before him. This was made clear to me when I saw the tattoo on the left side of his chest.

The picture was that of a heart, pierced by a sword and a rose that together formed an X. The heart signified love, he said one night as we shared a bottle of tequila, while the sword and the rose represented the beauty and the pain that inevitably followed the impact of Cupid’s tiny arrow. Beneath the heart was a banner that contained the letters L. D. R. It was, I suppose, a feminine design, but it in no way lessened his masculinity; rather, it explained the man that he was, while being an homage to the man that he had been before his love of life had suffered an agonizing death at the hands of fate.

“Live, dream, and remember,” he explained. “Those are the three things you should never be afraid to do.” I never forgot those words and have done my best to live by them.

A year or so later, I learned from a mutual friend that Ben had passed. However, it wasn’t the cancer that took him. Ben dreaded the thought of spending his final days in a hospital bed as a wasted shadow of what he had once been, and I think that had a lot to do with the decisions that he made.

Long story short, Ben crossed some people in a way that could not be excused or forgiven. He was eventually found, and met his death on his own terms, fighting to the end. I believe that he received a great deal of satisfaction in that, because he told me several times that lying in a bed and waiting for the clock to take down was almost as bad as the death itself.

To this day, my first love lives on in my heart. I’m who I am largely because of his influence, and I will always…remember.


rhani-bc
SHADOW OF THE DRILL

A brutal experience transforms an unproven young tough into a ruthless killing machine. For 15 years he waited, building his body into an unstoppable weapon so that vengeance would be had through the strength of his will and the power of his hands.


rhani-ap
AUTHOR BIO:

Rhani D’Chae is a visually impaired writer, reader, and lover of cats. She is currently working on the second book in the Drill series, about an unrepentant enforcer and the violent life that he leads.

Twitter – @rhanidchae
Facebook – https://goo.gl/UvY4YY
Website – rhanidchae.com


Thank you so much for visiting with us! Please continue showing Rhani your support with shares, comments and book purchases. Don’t forget to check out the rest of her exciting month as RRBC “SPOTLIGHT” Author!!

39 thoughts on “Meet “SPOTLIGHT” Author, Rhani D’Chae…”

  1. Wow, I really enjoyed that excerpt, Rhani! I have added this book to my kindle. Enjoy the spotlight:)

    Thanks for sharing your blog, Marlena!

    1. Thanks for stopping by today, and for adding Shadow to your Kindle. I’m so glad you enjoyed the post. I didn’t realize until I wrote it, and the memories flooded back, that there might be a part of Ben looking out through the Drill’s eyes. Comparing them, I do see a lot of similarities. It’s interesting to see how much real life can impact what we write, even if we don’t see it at the time.

  2. Rhani, is the experience with Ben from your own past, or is this an excerpt from the book? The whole thing is riveting, moving, and tragic at the same time. Either way, it’s a fabulous spotlight post, I just need to know fact or fiction!

    Marlena, thanks for hositng today!

    1. Hi Mae. I’m so glad you could stop by today. This post is fact. I was working for Ray Barber amusements at the time, and met Ben there. What a summer that was! Lol

      1. Rhani, what an amazing story. I thought it was from your perspective but wanted to make sure based on some of the other comments. Ray must have been quite a man. He definitely made an impression upon you, and people like that who leave a mark are all the more precious in our memories. Thanks for sharing your story with him.

  3. Marlena, thank you so much for hosting this stop on the tour. I can’t tell you how much I appreciate everything you’ve done for me and for #RRBC in general. 😀

  4. Rhani, you certainly have met your share of shady or questionable characters that you found redeeming qualities in. The bad boys are always a pull at your heart. I had one which got me into so much trouble. The bad boy aspect is the draw. I see how your characters develop and like I said in my review of Shadow of the Drill, you as a writer make the bad boy lovable & heroic in spite of the despicable things he did. That’s a great writer and I truly respect that talent in you. Good luck on your Spotlight tour!. Marlena thanks for hosting.

    1. Shirley, thanks for checking out today’s post. Yes, I’m a fool for the bad boys. Lol But there was so much good in Ben, blended in with his negatives. He was easy to fall for. 😍

    1. Joy, you’re absolutely right. As much as I may fuss and whine about life in general, I’m actually a fairly strong person, and I have to give Ben most of the credit for that. 😀

  5. Wow, Rhani! I LOVE this story and I can see how parts of Ben came through The Drill. Thank you for sharing something so personal! Hugs! Thanks for hosting, Marlena!

  6. Dear Rhani, Thanks for telling us a bit about yourself and also your characters. I wish you every success with book two and your blog tour now!
    Marlena, thank you also for hosting so many awesome authors😄

    1. Hi Flossie. Thanks for visiting this stop on the tour. Ben was a fascinating man, and I often wonder how things would have worked out if life had not taken us in different directions.

  7. Rhani, thank you for sharing your precious memories of Ben. The folks we meet along our journey are such an enormous part of who we are and they often color so vividly what we may become. I have found along my own path that those individuals who suffered the greatest rejection and pain had so very much love waiting to be freed, deep in their damaged souls. It’s a tragedy when the opportunity to share that depth of feeling comes all too often at the wrong place and the wrong time. How wonderful that he inspired a character like Decker, that allows him to live on. A marvelous post. Thanks for hosting Rhani, Marlena.

  8. Hi Sooz. Thank you for visiting this post, and for your wonderful comment. You are so right in everything you said. I don’t think of Ben as often as I used to, but he is still very much in my heart. I know that if we had never met, I would be a completely different person today. Because I like who I am, I know that I’ll always be grateful for the time that I had with him.

Leave a Reply

