Meet Rebecca Yelland…

Hello, bloggers!

I am pleased to introduce you to fellow Author Rebecca Yelland. Today, we get the pleasure of getting to know the author through a fun interview. It’s time to dive deeper into the mind of today’s guest author! Enjoy…


1. What made you decide to step into a career in writing?
It seemed a natural progression from writing poetry and songs to eventually taking the next step into writing a novel. I’ve always had a way with words. When the idea for the book came along, I knew the time had come.

2. Where do you find inspiration?
My inspiration comes mostly from real life situations/scenarios. It’s always a challenge to figure out why people are the way they are – and how they got there. Curiosity ignites my imagination.

3. What makes your writing unique?
Wisdom and compassion. I have experienced many difficulties in my life that have born empathy into the soul of my words. Even villains have a story. No one is completely immune from the human condition. I can express their pain on a deeper level, having suffered similar circumstances.

4. Do you have a special writing process?
Not really. Only that I write mostly at night. That’s when the fire burns the brightest in me. Well, and…don’t tell my last boss, but a little at work too.

5. What part of writing do you enjoy most? What do you find most difficult?
I love when a scene comes together effortlessly. It’s the most rewarding feeling in the world. What I found most difficult can be summed up in one word: Editing!

6. How do you create/develop your characters?
Some of my characters are based on real life people, but some just show up on their own. The character of Jimmy in Dancing at Midnight was completely unexpected!

7. Your work experience has given you a special insight into character development. Do you ever use people from your own life in your writing?
Yes. I often use a combination of traits that I think will make sense in the character. Take Alice, for example in Dancing at Midnight. She is a combination of three different people I know. Family members are not immune from being characters either.

8. What are some items on your Writing Bucket List?
Do you mean bucket or “dream” list? Bucket list would be to write more novels and secure a publisher. I won’t give up until that happens. Dream list would be to see Dancing at Midnight as a film. It is my greatest desire.

9. Please tell us about your book, DANCING AT MIDNIGHT.
Dancing at Midnight is the story of a woman who discovers her estranged mother’s journals after her death. Through reading these journals, she learns of an unknown life filled with various trials her mother has suffered since childhood. These emotional traumas provide deep insight into her mother’s guarded personality and help explain the lifelong strain of their relationship. These revelations forever change the daughter. In the end, she finds a sense of peace and resolution.

10. Where did the story idea come from?
This story is deeply personal. After the death of my mother, I had so many questions about the missing pieces in her life. She had hinted at some of the situations that occur in this story, but I’ve never had any real confirmation. In writing this book, I was in a way giving not only the daughter closure, but myself as well.

11. Did you do any research for your book?
Yes. I did a lot of research for events that took place in the 1930’s and 1940’s. However, for writing purposes, I tried to focus mainly on the human component rather than the historical aspects of that time period.

12. What do you hope readers take from your debut novel?
The most important message is that you never really know someone until you’ve walked in their shoes, and that emotional brokenness doesn’t always heal. And that’s okay. We need to stop trying to fix people to what makes us feel comfortable. Grief is an individual experience. Its duration is unique to the person it has affected.

13. If your book were turned into a movie, who would be your dream cast?
Based on physical appearance alone:
*June – Would prefer a complete unknown. The closest I could find would be Zooey Dutch.
*Carolyn – Torn between Alexis Bleidel and Rachel McAdams
*Jimmy – Alex Pettyfer
*Alice – Jessica Hamby
*Tom – Brant Daughtery
*Sharon – Jessica Chastian

14. Aside from writing, what are your passions in life? What can you be found doing when you’re not behind a pen or computer?
Up until about 10 years ago, singing was my first love. I performed regularly with my guitar at church. But time and other obligations have dulled that passion. Nowadays, you’re more likely to see me hitting the road to a National Park or traveling to a Disney Park. In my downtime, I do jigsaw puzzles to relax.

15. What can we expect next from you?
I’m currently working on a sequel to Dancing at Midnight. I wasn’t planning on writing one, but my readers are hungry for more. My next project after that will be a suspense set in the 1970’s. A young girl befriends a new stranger and a shocking secret shakes the town.


website

AUTHOR BIO:

It’s very simple. I love to write. Whether through poetry, song lyrics or randomly expressing my thoughts on paper, it has been my creative outlet for as long as I can remember. However, in the past year, I have broadened my horizons to include the publication of my first novel. The process has been a little overwhelming and intimidating at times. But the finished product has been well worth the effort. I always knew there was a story in me. I just needed the right inspiration to get started.

In the meantime, I’ve spent the past 26 years working as a human resources professional. In that capacity, I have been able to gain tremendous insight into character development for my writing. By dealing with so many diverse individuals and backgrounds, I’ve come to learn that everyone has their own story to tell.

I currently call a small town in Delaware my home. However, my heart will forever belong to my native California. I grew up in Southern California during the seventies, and raised my three children; Matthew, Jason and Katie, in the North Bay area of San Francisco. I hope to return one day to live among the beautiful Redwood forest. But for now, my brain is prompting me to write the next book.

Find Rebecca online:

Twitter
Facebook
Website


DANCING AT MIDNIGHT

book-cover

BOOK BLURB:

AWARDED THE INDIE B.R.A.G. MEDALLION FOR LITERARY FICTION. After a fifteen-year absence, Carolyn Graves has returned to her childhood home following the death of her mother. With the purpose of settling her mother’s estate, Carolyn attempts to push past the emotions of their strained relationship – and her own anxiety issues – to quickly complete the process and be on her way. But as Carolyn begins to sort through her mother’s private documents, she discovers a disturbing history behind her mother’s early life. As a result, Carolyn learns the truth about her parent’s relationship and the secret they have kept hidden for decades.


Thank you so much for joining us today! Please show your support to today’s guest author. Share, comment, promote… Let’s spread the word together!!

Until next time…………Happy Reading & Reviewing!!!

3 Comments

  1. Hi, Rebecca, very nice to meet you! Dancing at Midnight sounds intriguing. I love the idea of someone unearthing secrets from the past by discovering them in old documents and journals. Wishing you the very best with your release. I see it has already won high accolades!

  2. Welcome to this remarkable family we belong to, Rebecca. Your words show wisdom. If I may quote a line from the Helen Reddy song “I Am Woman’

    ‘Yes we are wise; but it’s wisdom born of pain. Yes we’ve paid the price; but look how much we’ve gained.’

    Books written with empathy and understanding will always shine. “Dancing at Midnight” sounds marvelous, and I look forward to reading it.

Leave a Reply

