Welcome to my blog, Robert Kimbrell!!

Hello, bloggers!!

I’m excited to welcome another grand RRBC “SPOTLIGHT” Author to my page… Robert Kimbrell!! Rob is a super supportive member of the club and a member of the Tweet Support Team. I’m more than happy to host him on my blog today. Please help me in supporting him, not only on my blog, but all across social media!

As always, please enjoy………


Is Fear Your Four Letter Word?

Perhaps we all have much we can say about fear. I believe fear can hinder, fear can enslave, fear can suck the life out of you.

Know that I am not talking about fear of heights, or fear of walking a cliff’s edge. I am talking about a fear that at some point learned to reside inside. As if the fear has tentacles, it latches onto vital parts of your soul and waits for the right time to remind you that YOU are incapable. It is like a sign that reads: YOU SHOULD NOT VENTURE HERE. Sooner or later you must again succumb to the wishes of that innate and tiring voice within. But living with fear’s heartbeat will always leave you stranded. Success is limited, happiness is constrained, and purpose is strangled when fear takes the lead.

I won’t bore you with a long story about how I was raised. But my childhood, in many ways, forms the basis for this article. My dad was an angry man, and if I wasn’t afraid of what he would do or say to me, I was afraid of what he would do or say to my mom. There was never a moment of peace when he was around. At any moment a flame could spark and he could get mad and lash out. One night, for example, I was scared awake to the sound of my dad throwing an ice cube tray across the kitchen. Another time he was choking my mom, and I instinctively ran and tackled him. I was maybe twelve then. You get the point.

Now, I am not here to blame my dad for my shortcomings, but there is no doubt one can carry learned traits as well as learned emotions into adult life. The constant fear I learned to carry then, still makes itself known to this day if I don’t control it. I believe part of our purpose can be dealing with those “automatic” emotions. Of course, emotions and feelings are not wrong, but they are not always right or valid. For the person enveloped in shackles of fear, you know there are moments when you are hit with it. You may shake with panic, you may sweat, maybe your heart beats rapidly or irregularly; perhaps you even become immobile. At a cliff’s edge? Fear is rational. But other times fear can set in and there is no rational reason. What can we do to deal with those times? I think the question to ask ourselves is, “Is this feeling rational?” By that I mean, is there a real reason I am experiencing this right now? There may very well be no viable reason, but your life is being robbed of joy and experience because of it.

You are smart enough to see those moments of fear that should not be there. Ask yourself, “Is there a legitimate reason I am feeling this fear right now?”. If the fear has no real context and does not belong, it is lying to you and can control you. The alternative is to relearn how to deal with your emotion when it strikes. There may or may not be an obvious trigger. But by teaching yourself to respond appropriately you can liberate and empower yourself, and discover a world in which you can truly be you and thrive.

First, I encourage you to get professional help if you need it. Talking to a trained person can help you see within more clearly.

Next, you may find something that works better for you, but I have reflected a lot about my own fears, and the following are some ways I confront my demons. Maybe they can help you.

F. Forget the past once you learn from it and Focus on what lies ahead. By building the new, one destroys the old seeds and the poisonous plants that grow from them.

E. Eliminate your irrational fears by pushing them from your mind. This can of course take a LOT of effort. I have even been able to starve my fears at times by not feeding them. In other words, I ignore them. Perhaps this is a way of retraining my brain to recognize real threats. And this is not the same as not facing your problems, because if the fear is not real, neither is the problem. Another option is to talk to yourself, and convince yourself with logic that there is no real reason to be afraid at the moment. Do something positive that will take brain power, that way you are less likely to focus on what is vying for your time and energy.

A. Act the way you want to act. Don’t use another person’s preferences as an indicator of what to do or who to be. You don’t have to be rude, but being a constant people-pleaser can cause you to lose yourself along with the ability to recognize ways to deal with fears.

R. Realize fully who you are as person, and be confident about yourself. By doing this, it will be easier to will away the fears that don’t fit your character.

Taking steps to deal with fear can itself be scary, and even leave you feeling weak and alone. Again, don’t be afraid to get help. By hugging the monster, you can be free and live a life full of more purpose and value than you ever imagined.

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000026_00043]

Book Blurb:

Because Annie has no recollection of her birth parents, her life is full of unknowns. Still, she seems relatively content with her simple existence in Washington, DC. Marcus, her new Italian boyfriend, adds much desired spice to her life despite secrecy about his position at SecureVest. But when Annie becomes mysteriously ill, it is the catalyst for a life far from simple.

Seemingly by luck, Annie discovers that she is maturing into a dhampir (a vampire/human hybrid), and to survive she must feed on fresh human blood. With Marcus fully aware of Annie’s predicament, they concoct a scheme: find the evil living among us and act where justice does not.

Vigilante Annie is born.

Amazon Link:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01A7BHIU6


author-pic

Author Bio:

An only child, (in the seventies, mind you), little Robert could be seen running in the backyard playing superhero, with a bed sheet serving as his cape. He also spent many hours drawing or writing in his mid-sized Ohio town. Having also battled depression earlier in life, Robert now sees how his low points have brought him to a more creative, stronger sense of being. Now he is where he wants to be, and is telling the stories he is meant to tell. His other interests include reading, motorcycle touring, fitness and classic movies.

Twitter: @VAAuthor

Website: www.VigilanteAnnie.com


Thank you so much for dropping by today. We greatly appreciate your support. You can continue supporting this awesome author by checking out his other “SPOTLIGHT” Author blog tour stops.

Until next time, lovelies…………

READING 1

26 Comments

  1. I am so totally impressed with your shared experience today, Robert. I can easily identify with your inner struggles with fear, although our upbringing was very different. I was blessed to be born into a non-violent household… until I drove my Irish mother to distraction! I think the advice you shared about controlling our inner fear is spot on! Excellent post! Thank you! Thanks for hosting, Mar!

  2. ‘Feel the fear and do it anyway’ are my favourite bon mots Robert, but your handle on it is just as good not to mention courageous. I always remember Frank Herbert’s fictional ethics on fear in Dune – ‘Fear is the mind-killer’ – nobody messes with my mind except me! :-D
    Thanks Mar for inviting us all over today ;-)

  3. These are some deep experiences you’ve shared here, Robert. I am certain there are readers who will benefit from this blog piece. I suffered from major panic attacks in my twenties. I learned to gain control of that fear, realizing it was all a false fear. Thank you for sharing this with us.

    Mar, thanks for hosting this amazing author.

Leave a Reply

