Meet Kim Cox…

Hello, bloggers!!

I am pleased to welcome another fabulous "SPOTLIGHT" Author to my blog today... Kim Cox!! Please help me shower her with support today and all this week as she journeys thru the RRBC SPOTLIGHT!!!

Congrats, Kim!! Enjoy your special week!!!!

Top 10 Time Management Tips for #Writers

Do you feel there’s just not enough time in the day anymore? Do you look back and feel like you used to accomplish a lot more in a shorter period of time?

I don’t know about you, but I sure do. I can remember while working a full-time job and then after coming home, I cooked supper, did the dishes, straightened the house, and still had time to get online with my critique partners to chat and write for an hour or two a night. And besides that, I had a teenager at home.

But these days, I do good to write anything and don’t have to do much of the other stuff I did before. I do still work a full-time job and feel physically exhausted when I get home. My husband, Lee, helps out a lot by cooking and keeping the housework done.

So I decided to do some research and find time management tips to see if these can help me. I hope they help you too.

1. The most important tasks should come first.

Like everything else, plan your time. Each day, make a list of things in the order they need to be done. You can have a list of goals. Set objective to complete each goals. Identify at least one writing object that is the most essential to complete and do it first.

When you get that one task completed, you will feel more successful and then you can jump on to the others on your list. If your time for that day is gone, save the other tasks for tomorrow because you’ve finished the most crucial.

2. Learn to say “no”.

This has been hard for me because I always love helping people. At one time, I was a member of two large writer clubs where I helped with multiple time-consuming tasks. And I enjoyed it. It taught me to juggle various responsibilities and manage my time.

But I took it too far. At some point, I was over my head with commitments. I was accomplishing a lot of writing-related obligations but I needed to learn to decline opportunities because I wasn’t actually writing my books anymore. 

Your objective should be to only volunteer for that you care the most about and know you truly have time for. It’s easy to take volunteering too far.

3. Sleep at least 7-8 hours.

This is something else I have to work on because I’m what people call a night owl. It’s easy to fool yourself into thinking that sacrificing sleep is a good way to gain productivity and wrench out a couple extra hours from your day. This is an illusion.

For our bodies and minds to function optimally, most of us need at least 7-8 hours of sleep. You will feel if you’re getting enough. Never underestimate the value of a good night’s sleep. Listen to your body.

4. Devote your entire focus to the task you’ve chosen a most important.

Stay focused on that one task by putting everything away. That’s right. Put the phone away—mute it and have it out of your sight. Close your computer browsers so that you will not be tempted to check email.

Most of the experts suggest finding a quiet place to work or if you must have some noise, listen to music. I’ll admit, I like having the television on in the background but there are certain shows I can work to and some I can’t.

Once you’ve started, concentrate on that one task and immerse yourself into it. Nothing else should exist while you’re working.

5. Don’t procrastinate – get an early start.

I am truly plagued by the impulse to procrastinate. It seems so easy, and I always manage to get it done eventually, so why not?

This is the lie I tell myself. It takes me a couple of hours to wake up, so I need to watch a little television before I can get started. Those two hours will turn into three, four, or five. Before I know it, the day is gone and I’ve done nothing I wanted to do.

6. Don’t allow details to drag you down.

Don’t get too hung up on small details. Being a bit of a perfectionist, I’m guilty of this and spend too much time trying to make each word, each sentence, or each paragraph perfect before moving on to the rest.

Turn that inner-editor off and plow through to the end. There’s time to edit once you’ve completed your story or book. I’ve found that it is possible to push past the desire to constantly examine everything I’ve done so far. I’m much better off when I press onward, get the bulk completed, and revise afterward.

7. Make good habits.

If you make your writing into a habit, it will become very manageable to write huge amounts. Make it a point to write something every day.

If you make it a routine, your mind will become in the habit of writing. It will be natural and enjoyable. A book recommended to me is “The Simple, Powerful Guide to Forming Any New Habit.“

8. Be aware of the amount of TV/Internet/gaming time.

Watching TV or movies or browsing social media or gaming can become one of the biggest absorption to your productivity.

Become more aware of how much time you spend on such activities. Keep a log for one week and you’ll realized how much they’re sucking up your time.

9. Give time limits for completing tasks.

Instead of just sitting down to write and think, “I’m going to be here until this is done,” try thinking instead, “I’m going to write 1000 words in two hours.”

Giving yourself a time limit will help you stay focused and be more efficient. So what if you end up having to go back and add a bit more later. You completed what you set out to do.

10. Leave a buffer-time between tasks.

Don’t rush from task to task. To do this makes it difficult to stay focused and motivated.

Allow yourself some down-time between tasks. Take a short break by going for a walk, meditate, or perform some other mind-clearing exercise.

5 Ways to Support Your Fellow Author

For me, it’s all about caring about your fellow author. They are many authors and you can’t support them all but you can pick a few to support. Most importantly, pay it forward by supporting those who support others. That’s what gets my attention.

When I notice an author supporting other authors, I make sure to try to support them a little extra by tweeting their books, reblogging, and tweeting their blog posts, showcase them on your blog, etc.

What does supporting an author look like to you?

This is What it Looks Like to Me

Word of mouth marketing. That’s what it means.

1 – Be Helpful

If you have some type of expertise or understanding, and another author needs information, help them out by sharing what you know. This could include Web Design, Marketing, Writing, Blogging, Newsletters, etc. The list goes on and on.

2 – Social Media

There are a number of social media outlets you can use. I mostly use Twitter and Facebook, but there are others.

With Twitter, I tweet their books and retweet their tweets. On Facebook, I share their posts on my regular page and my author page.

3 – Blogging

If I see a blog post of an interview, new book release, giveaway, etc. about or from an author I like, know, or admire, I reblog the article. I offer a spot on my blog called The Writer’s Journey open to authors to tell their story about writing, publishing, marketing, or anything else that deals with an author’s writing business. If you’re an author and you’re interested, go to this page for more information: The Writer’s Journey.

My blog articles and reblogged articles are set up to automatically send to my social media pages such as Twitter, Facebook, Google and Tumblr. My articles are also posted to my Goodreads Profile and my Amazon Author’s Page.

4 – Purchase, Read, and Review

Purchase, read, and leave an honest review of their books at the seller’s Web site. This will help with author recognition and more books sales for that author.

5 – Newsletters 

Let’s face it, authors need to keep their newsletter active enough as not to be forgotten, and we need to give our subscribers an incentive (something of value) to keep them opening the newsletters when they popup in their inbox. We won’t have a new book coming out every month to announce so why not use that time to recommend or introduce a new author to your readers.

If I know about an author’s book that’s free or on sale, I will post information about that book along with a link. Something I haven’t tried but plan to is to gift another author’s book as a prize to the winners of one of my contests.

If you interview author, post it on your newsletter.

Authors, other writers are not your competition. There are plenty of readers that read multiple books and read multiple authors. You’ve heard the old sayings, “What goes around comes around,” “Reap what you sow,” and of course, “You should give if you expect to receive,” “Do unto others as you expect them to do unto you.”

The first two are normally used in a negative way, but they also work in the positive. If you help promote your fellow authors, you will receive even more support than you could imagine.

Kim Cox is an author of Paranormal, Mystery, Suspense and Romance. She lives in the Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina with her chain saw artist husband, their West Highland White Terriers--Scooter and Harley, and a Yorkie mix, Candi. Kim is published in novels, short stories and articles. 

Sign up for Kim's Readers List for exclusive information, new releases, contests, giveaways, and free books.


SUSPICIOUS MINDS

SM - Book Cover

A ROMANTIC SUSPENSE NOVEL

In the city of Boston lies a story of revenge and hidden identity. Ryan Donatelli, posing as Thomas Randolph, sets out to avenge his sister's death, even if it means using Sam Southard's daughter to do it. After all, Ryan is sure Sam's responsible.

Natalie Southard is determined to keep her family business out of the hands of known crime boss, Nick DeMarco. After her father is killed, Natalie and Ryan are forced to run for their lives. But, will they live long enough for their hearts to heal once everything is revealed?

About Kim Cox

KC - Author Photo

Kim Cox is an author of Paranormal, Mystery, Suspense and Romance. She lives in the Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina with her chain saw artist husband, their West Highland White Terriers--Scooter and Harley, and a Yorkie mix, Candi. Kim is published in novels, short stories and articles. 

Sign up for Kim's Readers List for exclusive information, new releases, contests, giveaways, and free books.

Visit her at the following sites:

Author's Website: http://www.kimcoxauthor.com 

Blogs: Kim's Musings, Kim's Author Support Page

Amazon Author Page: http://amazon.com/author/kimcox

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/kimcoxauthor 

Twitter: https://twitter.com/KimCoxAuthor 

Google: https://plus.google.com/+KimCoxAuthor/posts 

Thank you so much for joining us today. We so appreciate your support!! Please share your thoughts and comments below in the Comments Section and don't forget to check out Kim's other stops this week!!

Until next time.........Happy Reading & Reviewing!!
38 Comments

  1. I love this post, Kim! And the time management tips are great. I must confess to failing miserably on the 7 to 8 hours of sleep. Try as I might, it just doesn’t happen, and that definitely drains my energy. I hope you’re enjoying your Spotlight tour as much as I am! :)
    Marlena, thanks for being such an awesome host :)

    • Thank you, Jan! My time management sucks, too. I figured most struggle with this. I knew I couldn’t be the only one. :) I know sometimes when I have a lot going on, I get apprehensive and stressed out–these days to almost the point of a panic attack. Must be an age thing. My one-track mind can help and hinder my process. In other words, I don’t multitask very well. I have to tackle one thing at a time, but I have found myself jumping from one task to another without finishing anything. It’s crazy really. I need to learn to focus on one task at a time again.

    • Thank you, John! I’m glad you enjoyed the articles. I find things I struggle with and research the ways to tackle the problem(s). As with support, I do all of those, but I’m not very good with visiting and commenting on other blogs or read all the blogs I want. I’m pretty new to the blogging scene and still learning there.

    • Thank you, Marcha. I do too. It always takes longer to do something than I think it will. I travel sometimes in my day job. Most of the appointments I schedule, I usually make them between a 30 minute window. because as with time to do something, I’m also not very good about estimating how long it will take to get there. In the mountains, it seems to always take longer than you think. I usually try to schedule first in the morning appointments where I can go straight from home because if I stop by the office first, it’s hard to get away. It seems people are always needing something from me especially if I have an appointment scheduled and need to leave.

  2. Pingback: Welcome to my blog… | Kim's Author Support Blog

  3. I’m guilty of most of those things. I’ve found that if I can get started on writing the first thing in the morning, I am productive. If I go through email, FB, Twitter, etc. I could be a couple of hours before I get started, and then I find other things that need to get done.

  4. This post is full of goodies! So many of us struggle with time management. I delivered many workshops on this topic…always fun with adults! We simply try to do too much, I think. Learning to say “no” was a big step for me. I also get distracted too easy. Lol. Fantastic author support tips as well. Thanks again for sharing.
    Thanks for the warm welcome, Marlena!

  5. I receive your newsletter, and I can attest that you are always sharing free books with your readers. Actually, you are ALWAYS promoting other authors, which is why I enjoy promoting you so much. :-) As for today’s blog, I try so hard to get 7-8 hours of sleep, but I have to wake up at 5am on the weekdays, and there is no way to get my butt into bed by 9pm. 10pm doesn’t even happen. That is my biggest work in progress. I had a really hard time learning to say no, but I’m pretty sure that I’ve mastered that skill already. lol! And let me tell you, it truly is a great feeling to be able to say no. Practice makes perfect with all of these tips, and I plan on achieving them all at some point. ;-)

Leave a Reply

