Books, RRBC, Writing

Meet Mae Clair…

Hello, bloggers!!

I am pleased to share my blog today with fellow RRBC MemberAuthor Mae Clair! Mae is on an exciting blog tour, presented by 4WillsPublishing. We are celebrating her book, A THOUSAND YESTERYEARS.

Please join me today in showering Mae with some incredible support, that is so deserving!! (Because she’s kind of an awesome RRBC Supporter!  ;)


Old Hotels and Ghosts by Mae Clair

Although I am a huge fan of folklore and urban legends, things of the supernatural variety freak me out. When it comes to ghosts, I keep my distance. You’ll never catch me taking ghost tours, engaging in séances or consulting mediums. Somehow though, I’ve ended up staying at a haunted hotel—twice. The first time was on a trip to Nevada. I later discovered the hotel was haunted by a ghost named Mary. Fortunately, she didn’t make an appearance.

The second time was just last year. My husband and spent a long weekend in Point Pleasant, West Virginia so I could gather additional research for my Point Pleasant Series. It was our second visit to the town in two years, and we booked a suite at the Historic Lowe Hotel. This is a very old four-story behemoth built in 1904. With its long halls, old stairways, elaborate moldings and woodwork, there were times I felt like I stepped into the Overlook from Stephen King’s The Shining.

Our last night there I learned the hotel was supposedly haunted. According to one of the owners, a phantom had occasionally been seen on the third floor. Nothing much appeared to be known about this ghost, but someone had managed to snap a photo. We found the picture in the hallway on the second floor. I tried to grab a shot of it with my cell phone. There definitely appears to be an image of someone in the bottom right hand corner. Can you see the ghost?

Ghost Photo

Hubby and I left the next morning without having encountered any spirits or experiencing anything that went bump-in-the-night.  The Mothman kept his distance, too. You can, however, learn about the winged humanoid that once plagued the town of Point Pleasant in my new mystery/suspense release A THOUSAND YESTERYEARS. Combining urban legend, historical fact and fiction, I’ve created a tale that I hope readers will find engaging:

BLURB
A THOUSAND YESTERYEARS

AThousandYesteryears_hires

Behind a legend lies the truth…

As a child, Eve Parrish lost her father and her best friend, Maggie Flynn, in a tragic bridge collapse. Fifteen years later, she returns to Point Pleasant to settle her deceased aunt’s estate. Though much has changed about the once thriving river community, the ghost of tragedy still weighs heavily on the town, as do rumors and sightings of the Mothman, a local legend. When Eve uncovers startling information about her aunt’s death, that legend is in danger of becoming all too real…

Caden Flynn is one of the few lucky survivors of the bridge collapse, but blames himself for coercing his younger sister out that night. He’s carried that guilt for fifteen years, unaware of darker currents haunting the town. It isn’t long before Eve’s arrival unravels an old secret—one that places her and Caden in the crosshairs of a deadly killer…

~ooOOoo~

New York Times bestselling author Kevin O’Brien had this to say about A THOUSAND YESTERYEARS: 

A THOUSAND YESTERYEARS is masterful, bone-chilling fiction that begins with a real-life tragedy on December 15, 1967: the Silver Bridge collapse in Point Pleasant, West Virginia.  46 people died.   Author Mae Clair has seamlessly woven fact, fiction and creepy urban folklore into one intense thriller.  The gripping story focuses on two witnesses to the disaster—fifteen years later.  Both Eve Parrish and Caden Flynn lost loved ones in the catastrophe and still carry the emotional scars.  After a long absence, Eve returns to Point Pleasant to bury her recently-deceased aunt, face some old ghosts, and reunite with her one-time “impossible-crush,” Caden.  But when Eve begins to investigate her aunt’s death, she’s plunged into danger and a nightmare world where scary urban legends are very real.  Full of suspense, A THOUSAND YESTERYEARS will keep you guessing, gasping and turning the pages for more.”

~ooOOoo~

Intrigued?

A THOUSAND YESTERYEARS is available from:

Amazon
http://www.amazon.com/Thousand-Yesteryears-Point-Pleasant-ebook/dp/B0138NHJ4A

B & N
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/a-thousand-yesteryears-mae-clair/1122454905?ean=9781601837776

Kobo
https://store.kobobooks.com/en-us/ebook/a-thousand-yesteryears

Google Play
https://play.google.com/store/books/details/Mae_Clair_A_Thousand_Yesteryears?id=kY9KCgAAQBAJ&hl=en

iTunes
https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/a-thousand-yesteryears/id1050516745?mt=11

Kensington Publishing
http://www.ekensingtonbooks.com/book.aspx/32298

 

Author Bio:

Mae Clair

Mae Clair has been chasing myth, monsters and folklore through research and reading since she was a child. In 2013 and 2015, she journeyed to West Virginia to learn more about the legendary Mothman, a creature who factors into her latest release.

Mae pens tales of mystery and suspense with a touch of romance. Married to her high school sweetheart, she lives in Pennsylvania and numbers cats, history and exploring old graveyards among her passions. Look for Mae on her website at MaeClair.net where you can sign-up for her newsletter.

 

Connect with Mae Clair at the following haunts:
Website
Blog
Twitter (@MaeClair1)
Google+
Facebook Author Page
Amazon Author Page
Sign up for Mae’s newsletter:
Newsletter Sign-Up

 


“The tour sponsored by 4WillsPublishing.wordpress.com.”


Thank you so much for joining us today. You can join Mae on the rest of her tour by visiting the 4WillsPublishing website.

Until next time……… Happy Reading & Reviewing!!!

32 thoughts on “Meet Mae Clair…”

  1. I have to say that A Thousand Yesteryears sounds so intriguing. I love the book cover! Mmm, I’ve never had the pleasure of staying in a haunted hotel (at least, not to my knowledge)! I’m enjoying your tour, Mae :)
    Mar, thanks for always being such an awesome host and so supportive :)

    1. Hi, Harmony! So happy you’re enjoying my tour. I would have never knowingly stayed at a haunted hotel, because I’m so freaky about that kind of stuff, LOL, Fortunately both times nothing of the supernatural variety made an appearance. Whew! :)

  2. Marlena, many thanks for hosting me on my blog tour. You’ve got a wonderful site here. I’m delighted to be a guest. Thanks you for your kind words and generous support.

    1. You are so welcome, Mae!! Your blog posts & overall tour intrigues me. I’m fascinated by ghost/hauntings, so I was more than happy to host! :)

  3. Fantastic blog post and great to learn more about Mae. My mum was once told that a visiting friend could see the ghost of a man in the lounge! She said he wasn’t threatening, just there to say hello. Luckily my mum didn’t feel worried about it at all, but it could have made her want to move house!
    Best of luck with your book. It sounds like a really interesting read. I will look it up and post on Twitter for you. Plus add to my TBR list:)

    1. Hi, Lizzie. Thanks so much for the Twitter and TBR add. :)

      That’s so eerie about the ghost in your mom’s house. I’m glad he wasn’t threatening in any way. That would have certainly spooked me!

  4. Fascinating blog, Mae. Like you, I don’t seek out paranormal experiences, but I’ve had a few. I’m looking forward to reading your book. Thank you for hosting, Marlena — always gracious.

    1. Hi, Gwen. Yeah, I’m pretty freaky about the supernatural stuff. Because of my interest in folklore, myth and urban legends, most people are usually surprised when they find out I shy away from the paranormal.

      Thanks for following my tour. It’s lovely to hear you’re looking forward to reading the book!

  5. Congratulations on your tour Mae Clair. Marlena, what a lovely blog for hosting our members. Good job bringing us Mae 4WillsPub.

  6. What an eery picture with the ghost, I saw it. I’ve stayed in 2 hotels that are haunted, one in California and one in Colorado. I never saw a ghost, but getting up in the middle of the night to go to the bathroom was pretty scary. 😊
    Wishing you luck today and thanks Shirley for hosting.

    1. I’m glad you didn’t run into any stray phantoms at those hotels, Jennifer :)

      Looking back on it, it’s kind of nice to say I stayed at a (haunted) hotel, but I’m so glad the woman in that picture didn’t decide to say hello, LOL.

      She does stand out in the corner, doesn’t she? A woman wearing an old fashioned dress.

    1. LOL! I remember reading that book as a teen. To this day it’s still one of the scariest books I ever read (the movie remakes never did it justice). The topiary hedge scenes completely freaked me out! :)

    1. Hi, Gordon. Thanks so much for that! I hope you find the story appealing and will enjoy the read should you elect to give it a try. Thanks so much for checking it out!

  7. Mae, I know that ghosts exist. When I was young, tried an experiment that allows us to see ghosts, and I saw them walking on air, in broad daylight. Brrrr!… :). Thank you Marlena for hosting her.

    1. Joy, I got goosebumps reading that. I would never be as brave as you doing that experiment. How eerie that must have been.

      Thanks so much for following my tour and sharing your experiences!

  8. Oh my Lord…I’m terrified, completely terrified to see anything ghost related. I can’t even watch a preview of a movie. It’s a deep rooted fear. Joy, your post gave me chills! Yikes!
    Mae, just learning about the research you’ve done for A THOUSAND YESTERYEARS is intriguing. Bravo! :)
    Thanks for the warm welcome, Marlena!

    1. I can certainly relate to that fear, Natalie! Thanks for dropping by to read my latest post. I really enjoyed all the research that went into A THOUSAND YESTERYEARS. It was fabulous to visit the actual town, walk the streets (and even drive the TNT) where the novel is set.

  9. I went to a writer’s retreat back in I think year 2000. It was a small group. The hotel appeared to look a lot like the one in the movie, “The Shinning,” and it was very eerie. We went on a ghost hunt and made up stories. It also had a statue in a corner on the basement floor near the bar that was called the god of the underworld, think the name was Pluto or something like that. Looked like Satan to me. We didn’t see any ghosts but it was lots of fun. However, I never went back to the basement. The hotel was in French Lick, Indiana, think it’s called The French Lick Resort and Spa.

    1. That statue in the basement would have totally creeped me out. Even just reading about it made me think “no way would I venture down there!” LOL!

      Sounds like your group had fun. I’d never be brave enough to venture on a ghost hunt *shiver*

Leave a Reply

