Meet Mark Aberdeen…

Hello, bloggers!!

Today, I welcome another grand member of Rave Reviews Book ClubMARK ABERDEEN!!

Mark is our current “SPOTLIGHT” Author and I am so excited to share my blog with him today.

Of course, as most of you know, to be selected for this “hot seat,” one must truly support RRBC and our members… So, please help us shower Mark with the same support that he gives us!!


It’s a Trap
By Mark Aberdeen

It’s a trap! Don’t fall for it. There are a lot of internet companies who want to help a writer market their book. Just pay a fee and these marketing geniuses are going to tweet your book out to their masses and soon a tractor trailer with piles of cash will back up to author’s driveway to provide the surface of the dance floor where the author will celebrate their bestseller. I’ve seen dozens of them in my twitter feed and even more that want me to buy followers. I’m sure I’m not alone. I’ve even tried a couple of the marketing offers. They send out blasts of the same three tweets for a month and become background noise, or worse, an annoyance. The last thing I wanted was my work associated with negative feelings. I want people to be excited by what they see.

When one of these marketing companies promises they will retweet to their 300K+ followers. Do a little checking. First, make sure they have 300K+ followers. There are a lot who promise it and I found they were somewhat short of that, sometimes as much as 299K+ followers. Second, see who their followers are. Check for bots. A twitter handle who follows a lot but is followed by a few is probably not real. Be wary of eggheads, or pictures that look stock, or with a twitter feed full of advertising, contests, giveaways and no real content. While it’s my goal to gain followers, I want them to be people with whom I can connect. Last, most people have a somewhat equal number of followers and those they follow. Celebrities will have a lot of followers, but few get follow back. Look for those balances and if they’re somewhat close, they’re probably a viable follower.

Last piece, once the twitter followers get into the thousands, it’s impossible to keep up on everything, especially if one’s has a life outside of cyberspace. It’s okay to do the best you can. I’ve got a service that greets new followers and provides the best way to connect with me. I manage followers and if anyone proves to be a bot, I weed them out. The last thing anyone needs is a bunch of noise clogging up the feeds at the expense of real connections. Find groups and while the RRBC is unique in its offerings and support, they aren’t the only group that can help a writer network. It takes time to build a following. As long as your content is interesting and real, they’ll come. No should ever have to buy followers and especially don’t take an offer to 300K+ followers when the person selling them has only 3K. If that sounds appealing, come see me. I’m building a ski lodge in Nebraska and I need investors, but please don’t fact check it.


 

Knight and Dex
Excerpt

Snow settled over New London and covered the alley with a chilly blanket, which normally gave me a moment’s pause to reflect. I might have thought about tranquility, but there was nothing tranquil in the roundhouse kick I took to the face. Steam rose from crimson splatter as my blood hit the freshly fallen snow.

Minx’s claws flashed. I jumped back and narrowly avoided being torn open at the belly.

It was difficult to wax poetic while someone was doing their best to kill me.

Welcome to my life.

I swung my left fist. My intention wasn’t to connect with Minx’s jaw but to buy a precious second. The parry worked well enough and gave me the moment I needed to draw the pulse pistol from under my coat. I bellowed a triumphant, “Ha!”

My moment of glory was short-lived. Another kick connected with my right hand. The blow jarred the weapon loose and it sailed into a snow bank. Powdery snow swallowed it whole. The thing about being unarmed, it felt a bit like being naked in a crowd. No way to cover my ass.

I gripped my stinging hand. “Shit.”

A powerful arm, furry and itchy and stiff as a crowbar, hooked me around the neck. Minx had gotten behind me, and the momentum of her attack tore my feet from the ground. I cartwheeled, forcing her to detach and spring back, but I landed face-down in a heap. The snow with all its apparent fluffiness did nothing to cushion my fall. The impact rattled my bones and lights danced across my vision, swirling in loopy rings.

All I needed was another concussion.

Strong hands grabbed me by the collar and belt. My stomach lurched as I was torn from the relative comfort of the ground and flipped onto my back like a flapjack. Minx pounced on top of me and pinned my arms to my sides with her powerful thighs. Normally, I approved of such positions, but she wasn’t Pink Panther and this wasn’t foreplay. I feared she would crunch me like a walnut in a nutcracker. I gasped for precious air.

To any observer it would appear as if I were unprepared for this fight. That observer would have been correct. I’d seen her running down the sidewalk and duck into this alley. She was up to something and I’d interrupted her. Evidence suggested it was something she didn’t want the cops to know about. While my intent was to have a friendly chat with her, she’d decided to take our exchange in a different direction.

Minx had a reputation in underworld circles as an effective messenger. Our not-so-cozy encounter fell within the realm of her typical delivery method. While I didn’t feel like she took sadistic glee in her work, I thought she took pride in a job well done. I, on the other hand, found the work environment hostile, and already I was drawing up a complaint to her HR department.


Purchase Mark Aberdeen’s Dex Series here:

Dex Territory (Dex Territory Series Book 1)

TWB Press: http://www.twbpress.com/dexterritory.html

Amazon Link: http://amzn.com/B00R1JZVIE

Barnes and Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/dex-territory-mark-aberdeen/1120906076?ean=9781936991860

Kobo: https://store.kobobooks.com/en-us/ebook/dex-territory

Follow Mark Aberdeen

Website: http://www.markaberdeen.blogspot.com/
Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/Mark-Aberdeen
Twitter handle: @Mark_Aberdeen
Facebook: www.facebook.com/dexterritorybook


 

Thank you so much for stopping by and showing your support to Mark. Please check out the rest of his “SPOTLIGHT” blog tour by visiting the RRBC website.

Until next time, lovelies…………Happy Reading & Reviewing!!!

13 Comments

  1. Amen to all that Mark – I’m positively phobic about ‘Get Your Twitter Followers Here’ outfits and am really picky on who I follow back, so I always see their thumbnail profile before I hit the button. Great advice :-D
    Thanks for letting us all descend upon you Mar ;-)

  2. Pingback: Welcome to my blog… | Dawn Delivers

Leave a Reply

