Life

Welcome to 2016…

Hello, bloggers!

First of all, let me apologize for being MIA. The latter part of 2015 took a major toll on me. A lot happened. More on the negative side than positive.

In July, my husband and I decided to go our separate ways. Of course, this caused a domino effect. There were more bad days than good days, but I’ve come to peace with this change in my life. To make matters worse, I lost my grandmother in November, to a battle with cancer. She’s in a better place now and I’ve been blessed with the responsibility of taking care of her home. So, with the bad, there was good.

With everything that I had going on, I lost focus in the things that were important to me. Like my writing and the book club. I let the negativity in my life get the best of me. And with that, I disappointed people. I also caused them to worry. I’ll be honest… I was in a bad place.

BUT…

With the amazing support from family and friends that I have had, especially over the last six months… I have moved on. I am better. I am not just me again, I’m a better me. Because with trial and tribulations, with hardships and disappointments, I become stronger. I become a survivor. I wake up each day, with an “I CAN” attitude, knowing that I, and I alone, will make the most of each day. With the right attitude and mindset, I can make things happen.

This year will be the best year of my life. Why? Because it’s a new beginning. It’s a new chance to do what I want to do. It’s a new opportunity to make something of myself.

I will use my time in ways that make ME happy. That means I’ll be working extra hard with that awesome book club you hear me speak of often. (Rave Reviews Book Club) I’m going to finally get my first book published!! (That’s right, folks!! Stay tuned!!) I’m going to take the house that was given to me and turn it into my home. I am going to make changes this year, improvements.

So…

Bloggers, readers, friends… THANK YOU!!

Thank you for sticking with me through my journey. Be prepared because 2016 is going to be HUGE. 2016 is going to be MY YEAR. Are you ready?!?

me

27 thoughts on “Welcome to 2016…”

  1. Big life changes like you (and I too) have had last year can really knock the stuffing out of you Marlena. However, bad as they can be, they’re the sort of challenges that are the making of you as well. So, I’m cheering you on like mad and know just how much joy and anticipation you are now feeling as you go on with the next chapter of your life! :-D
    Go get 2016 Marlena – with all it’s ups and downs, you can’t fail with such a ‘can do’ attitude! ;-)

  2. What an inspiring post. Life will make or break you and its up to each of us to choose the path for us. I’m glad you chose the positive path and it sounds like you are happy. I appreciate you sharing your personal story with us. I know how hard that is to do. But now you can breathe a sigh of relief that the earth did not stop and go forward knowing you have good friends. Your new year seems filled with new promises and solutions for a better life. Can’t wait to see your book release.

  3. How did this happen, and I didn’t get it in time?… Sorry Marlena. I don’t really know whether to say sorry or congrats. You sound so up-beat, so I suppose it will be congrats. You own yourself Marlena, no one does, and it is your life. I am happy to see that you are taking the break very well. That’s the spirit. No need brooding over spilt milk. All is well. We have your back! :)

  4. I am living proof that life can be better AFTER divorce! :-) In fact, life has never been as good as it is now. Keep shining that beautiful light of yours, and the darkness will have to find some other place to live. :-)

Leave a Reply

