Books, RRBC

Meet Michael King…

Hello, bloggers!!

I am pleased to welcome fellow RRBC Member, Michael King, author of THE TRAVELING MAN.

Michael is our current “SPOTLIGHT” Author and I couldn’t be happier to share my blog with him today. SO, let’s jump right into business.

As always, please sit back, relax and enjoy………

AUTHOR PHOTO

Michael King studied creative writing with John Kessel and Lee Smith at North Carolina State University. He received an MA in English with an emphasis in creative writing from Iowa State University, where he studied with Joe Geha, Michael Martone, and Jane Smiley.

 

Improving Your Writing Skills

How do musicians or athletes improve their skills? Not by performing songs or playing games. Musicians and athletes improve by doing drills to work on the skills they need when they are on the stage or the playing field. Likewise, to improve as a writer, you have to honestly examine your skill set, determine where you need improvement, and develop drills to teach yourself what you need to learn.

For example, before I started writing crime thrillers, I wrote a kind of fiction where plot wasn’t very important—or I thought plot wasn’t important. And I knew I wasn’t Kate Atkinson. I wasn’t going to be able to wind out the plot like she does in a Jackson Brodie novel. So I started reading classic thrillers and writing summary plot outlines. After I wrote a few dozen, I didn’t need to write them out anymore. I could just go through them in my mind. But I kept reading thrillers and analyzing their plots. And I started writing plot outlines for practice. Not complicated numbered lists like many of us learned in school, but just a simple list of scenes, one following another, from the beginning of the story to the end. After a few months, I was amazed by how much more interesting and complicated my plots were.

A wise person once told me, “You can only learn what you’re ready to learn.” Until I was ready to accept that plotting was an issue, I couldn’t learn to write better plots. Accepting that you need to improve is often harder than making the improvement, which usually just involves hard work. So give yourself an honest evaluation, make a plan to practice a specific skill, and see the results in your next novel.

THE TRAVELING MAN

To learn more about Michael P. King, or to purchase The Traveling Man, please visit:

Website: https://michaelpking.org

Amazon Author Page: http://bit.ly/MPKingA

Twitter handle: https://twitter.com/mpking3312

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/MichaelP.King.thetravelers

 


Thank you so much for stopping by today and showing your support to RRBC’s “SPOTLIGHT” Author. Please continue to show him that grand support by visiting his other blog stops this week. And don’t forget to pick up your copy of THE TRAVELING MAN.

 

Until next time, friends……………… Happy Reading & Reviewing!!!

9 thoughts on “Meet Michael King…”

  1. All the world’s a stage, and all the men and women merely players: they have their exits and their entrances; and one man in his time plays many parts, his acts being seven ages.

    You and the Bard said it, Michael! Plot=life, in or out of a book… :-D
    Thanks for having us over Marlena :-)

  2. The craft of writing is the essential underpinning to the art. What great artist did not spend his or her youth learning their craft under the guidance of an acknowledged expert? To become a master, first you must be a pupil.

  3. Congratulations Micheal. I am sharing this blog to all my family and friends. I hope you get maximum exposure on your tour. Good luck to you! Thanks Marlena for all your support too.

Leave a Reply

