UPSIDE DOWN Blog Tour

Hello, bloggers!!

I am so pleased to have a very special guest join us today. Fellow RRBC Member, Author, friend, all-around awesome lady……… LIZ GAVIN!!! Liz is on an exciting two-week blog tour with 4WillsPublishing. I have the honor of having her company today and I do hope you take advantage and soak in all you can about Liz and UPSIDE DOWN!

As always, sit back… relax… and enjoy!!


 

UPSIDE DOWN TOUR

Thank you AWESOME READER for visiting today and AMAZING HOST for having me in your blog!!

WHY YOU SHOULD OFFER YOUR BOOKS IN MULTIPLE LANGUAGES
(PART 2/2)

Yesterday I talked about the sales of one of my titles in Portuguese. Did you miss it? No worries! Check the lineup for UPSIDE DOWN BLOG TOUR at 4WillsPublishing site and read it before coming back here.

I’m so happy with those results that I’ve hired a friend, who is a native speaker of Spanish and fluent in both English and Portuguese, to translate my books to Spanish. Soon, I intend to take the Mexican and the Spanish Kindle Stores by storm!!! LOL :

You don’t believe me? Fair enough. Here’s what other authors have said about translating their books. You can find the original text at Amazon KDP website:

Some Things to Consider

Here are a few questions you may want to ask a freelancer to help make a decision:

  • How long will the translation take?
    • How much will the translation cost?
    • Are they a native speaker of the desired language? (Keep in mind, translators generally translate into their native language.)
    • Will they need specialized knowledge to translate my book, i.e. computer skills?
    • What other books have they translated? Can they provide a resume or curriculum vitae?
    • Do they work with an editor as part of the translation?
    • What are the payment terms?
    • Who will hold copyright of the translated work?

Words from Authors Who’ve Translated Their Work

Here are some testimonials from KDP authors who have had their works translated:

My Spanish translation of Area 51 is selling well on Amazon ES and also in the United States. I’m currently having over a dozen titles translated into Spanish, German and Italian and plan on expanding that list. As Kindle sales increase in those countries, I know I will see exponential growth in the marketplace.

-Bob Mayer, best-selling KDP author

In the digital era, non-English readers are just a button-click away. All you need are qualified, willing translators who see the opportunities in the new publishing era. I pay my translators a royalty percent of my sales on the belief that we will reap long-term benefits together, and I have independently published 10 foreign editions of my books. As Amazon continues to expand into new countries and languages, my catalog and audience will grow as well. Plus it’s fun and exciting to work with creative partners around the world. The way I look at it, I still have seven billion readers to meet, and Amazon is making it possible.

-Scott Nicholson, best-selling KDP author

I work hard to find a great team of translators and editors for each language, putting them together one by one via referrals from other writers and translators, and posting project proposals at companies like odesk.com and Craigslist. I hire a translator, 2 proofreaders, and a QA person for each language to try and make sure the translation is of the highest quality.

With regards to how long it takes per book that depends on the length of the book and each translator’s schedule. Usually I will have a translation back within 4-12 weeks. The proofreaders then need the time to work on the book. I usually have future translations in progress while I am in the process of production on each title – making the foreign cover, assembling the foreign metadata, etc.

The price depends on length and language. I’ve paid between $1,000 and $5,000. Some languages are less expensive (Spanish, Portuguese) and some are much higher (Swedish and Japanese).

It is a very exciting process – I love seeing all the titles go up in each language and it’s even more exciting when they start selling so well right out of the gate, as many of my self-published translated titles have been in the top 100 best seller lists at the Amazon stores in each country already! I have done German, French, Italian and Spanish so far. I will have Portuguese and Swedish out soon and am considering other languages as well.

-Bella Andre, best-selling KDP author

So why not become a truly international author and publish your books in multiple languages?

Be sure to come back tomorrow because I’ll talk about the BEST place for readers and authors to hang out online! Check the lineup for UPSIDE DOWN BLOG TOUR at 4WillsPublishing site to know where to go to read that post.

Please, leave your thoughts below before you go!

 


LIZ_GAVIN_PICAuthor Bio

When Liz Gavin was in Second Grade – just a couple of years ago, really – her teacher told her mother the little girl should start a diary because she needed an outlet for her active and vivid imagination. She was a talkative child who would disrupt the class by engaging her colleagues in endless conversations. She loved telling them the stories her grandfather used to tell her.

Apparently, the teacher wasn’t a big fan of those stories, and Liz’s mother bought her a diary. She happily wrote on it for a couple of months. Unable to see the appeal of writing for her own enjoyment only, she gave up on it. She missed the audience her friends provided her in class. She went back to disturbing her dear teacher’s class.

Since then, she has become a hungry reader. She will read anything and everything she can get her hands on – from the classics to erotica. That’s how she has become a writer of erotica and romance, as well.

As a young adult, she participated in a student exchange program and lived in New Orleans for six months. She fell in love with the city and its wonderful inhabitants. NOLA will always hold a special spot in Liz Gavin’s heart. Nowadays, living in Brazil, Liz’s creativity has improved many times because it’s such a vibrant, gorgeous and sexy country.

Welcome to her world of hot Alpha males and naughty, independent women. Add a touch of the paranormal in the presence of some wicked souls and you’ll get the picture.

Contact Information

My blog = http://elessarpublishing.blogspot.com/ https://lizgavin.wordpress.com
Twitter handle = @LizGavin_author
Facebook = www.facebook.com/liz.gavin.54
Email = lizgavin@elessarbooks.com

 


Upside_down_cover_Book Blurb

Carol Anne Sullivan is a tough New York stock broker. She’s suffered enough in order to learn a hard lesson – never let love spoil her relationships. Her boyfriends know that rule from the start. She’s domineering and assertive but also faithful and fair while the relationship lasts.

Mark Aikens is Carol’s boyfriend. He’s been in love with her for a while but his submissive side hasn’t allowed him to rebel against her golden rule and to tell her how he feels. Fear of losing her forever might spur him into action.

Cindy O’Rourke has admired Carol from afar. So, she jumps at the opportunity to work for her idol. Little does she know, things will never be the same for her after that job interview

Carol has been going through a rough patch: world economical crisis, dysfunctional parents, demanding clients, faulty equipment. Without much time for herself, her love life is suffering. So what is the big deal if she fantasizes about a new employee when her boyfriend, Mark, can’t give her what she needs? The big deal is – the new receptionist, Cindy, is a woman who threatens to turn her world upside down

This is the steamy tale of an unconventional love triangle which should be read with an open mind and an open heart. Sometimes, love comes to our lives in unexpected ways but with such overwhelming power that the best course of action might be to surrender to it.

Book link on Amazon US = http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00IFMMJY0

Book link on Amazon UK = http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00IFMMJY0

 

4WillsPublishing Links:
Rafflecopter Giveaway: http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/4af5be7f16/

Goodreads Event page: https://www.goodreads.com/event/show/959404-upside-down-blog-tour

“This tour sponsored by 4WillsPublishing.wordpress.com.”

 


 

Thank you so very much for joining us today. I sincerely hope you enjoyed today’s visit as much as I did. Now, do yourself a favor and rush over to Amazon/Barnes & Noble/etc. and get your copy of UPSIDE DOWN!! And don’t forget to check out the other books by this incredible author.

 

Let’s make it a great day, bloggers!!

17 Comments

  1. Thank YOU, Mar for all you do, my dearest friend. You are the AWESOMEST person I know (I guess that’s not really a word but it sounds so cute hahaha)
    Plus, I grab any chance I have to come visit your beautiful blog! :D

  2. Are you saying Liz that the author is the one to hire the translator? I have always believed that translation is done on request by publishers of different languages. Ha! Go figure! Than you Marlena for hosting.

    • Joy, I guess in traditional publishing the international publishing houses request/buy the rights to translate specific books but in independent publishing the sky is the limit!! Nowadays, I’m searching about audiobooks as well! :D
      Thanks for visiting and posting, my dearest friend. You’re much appreciated!!

    • Hi, Jennifer!! Thanks for sticking around Upside Down Blog Tour. YOU ROCK!! haha I’m glad you’ve learned something new with this post. Like I said to Joy, I think in traditional publishing the international publishers may request translations of specific books but for us indies I prefer to believe ‘the sky is the limit’!! hahaha I’m learning about audiobooks at the moment!! :D

  3. I’ve seen poetry defined as ‘that which is lost in translation’ and find myself wondering to what extent prose that is finely tuned in one language (rhythms, alliterations, cultural references…) will have the same impact in another tongue. I suspect that it’s a skilled business to get right. Given that ‘Myrddin’ is Welsh for ‘Merlin’, and that some of my action takes place in Wales, and I am told that teachers of Welsh are always on the lookout for books that would interest children, maybe I should start there! Thanks for making me think about it! Thank you too Marlena for hosting. You’re all starting to feel like family! xx

  4. Aww, Robin! Thank YOU so much for your visit and very kind words. I’m glad I’ve given you something to ponder. :D
    You’re absolutely right about RRBC feeling like a family because we ARE!! Hope to see you around the other blog tours as well. There are some pretty amazing writers touring with 4Wills Publishing this week! I’m honored to be just one of them.

Leave a Reply

