Meet Michael Eging…

Hello, bloggers!!

Today we have a very special guest! Please help me welcome RAVE REVIEWS BOOK CLUB’S “SPOTLIGHT” AUTHOR, Michael Eging!! I am SO excited to have Michael join us today.

Please sit back, relax and enjoy some time with Author Michael Eging


My Writing Inspiration

Finding my muse has been a relatively simple thing throughout my life. I almost hate to admit it (joking), but yet, it has been an anchor for all I do, either personally or professionally. My inspiration comes from my family.

When I was young, my mother gave me an old beat-up typewriter that belonged to my grandmother. After reading some stories of the Emperor Heraclius (as well as a daily dose of Robert E. Howard), I plunked out a tale set in North Africa where a young Heraclius is kidnapped and a Byzantine soldier faces the desert tribes to set him free. As a reward for his bravery, the young soldier accompanies Heraclius on the grand expedition to capture Constantinople and restore the Roman Empire of the Dark Ages. Thanks, mom.

My father grew up on pulp fiction magazines of the 1930’s. I remember haunting bookstores with him for re-prints of John Carter of Mars, Conan and Tarzan. As I read the covers off those books, I was introduced to Tolkien, Zelazny and Donaldson. Just this past weekend, while with my own son in a bookstore searching for Conan comics from the 1970s, I told my own son how I would find lost books stashed beneath my father’s bed! My father was my kindred spirit and he encouraged me to read and explore, as well as write.

Finally, I find inspiration in my own family – my wife and children. I have realized over the years that the stories daddy tells them of knights and brigands, dragons and elves, rangers and shambling dead have stuck in their imaginations. My own children will remind me of those stories and even ask for a retelling! So each page, each scene and each project I complete are for them. I hope one day they will share the stories with their own children.

One day, they can sit down, open the pages and say, “I remember when my dad first told me this story…”

Author Bio

Mike Eging-9468sml
Mike has wanted to write since he was very young. His earliest memories are of carrying a battered old notebook around full of illustrations and stories. He would often transpose those ideas on his grandmother’s old typewriter. While in college, he was inspired by professors and visiting writers to BYU. Literary classics such as Song of Roland and Inferno were often in his backpack, along with Russian textbooks. Chapter 4 of Annwyn’s Blood was written during this time as a short story.

Mike works in Washington, DC since pursuing graduate studies in Russian History. He focuses in domestic policy issues. Recently, Mike has pursued an interest in writing screenplays for feature films with his first option being a medieval epic, Song of Roland. He continues to focus on a variety of script/movie projects, most recently a horror thriller, Feast of Saint Nicholas, and a political thriller, The Prince. Recently, he founded and launched Filibuster Filmworks with his partners to produce and develop feature films, television and other projects.

He lives in Northern Virginia with his wife, Lori and his wonderful children. He dreams of one day driving to Alaska in his old Defender with his kids and their dog, Marlin.

Annwyn's Blood Cover
Book Links:
Amazon
Barnes & Noble

Follow Michael:
Twitter
Facebook
Website


As a special treat, I am also including two poems that Michael has written. Enjoy!!

Inspiration
I sit alone to contemplate
the workings of a muse.
Yet the pages still seem blank,
I wonder what’s the use.
Dante wrote of hell and fire,
and Tennyson his table round.
I cry to find my purpose,
where it can be found.
My soul yearns to speak in power,
and call mankind to hear.
Fingers struggle to write the words,
weaving the strands of wyrd.
Is there some texture, a feeling
I can grasp or touch?
When it dangles on the fingertips,
I’ve found it and am lost.

Splendour
Splendour—
The bloody marred blade lays
Nak’d upon a rock.
The knight, armour battered, fallen
Not far off.
His hands outstretched, still
In death he grasps,
For the sturdy blade.
Warrior’s noble horse
Calls up on the hill.
There is no one to answer—
No one ever will.
With hands outstretched, still
In death they grasp—
The descending cloud
Of crows.


Don’t forget to visit Michael’s other awesome, supporting hosts at http://ravereviewsbynonniejules.wordpress.com/spotlight-authors/.

Until next time………………………………Happy Reading & Reviewing!!

22 Comments

  1. John, reading your story about your father being your biggest influence reminded me of the summer nights when my own mother would tell me and my friends make-believe stories that would have us on the edge of our seat listening. And then she would suddenly stop in the middle of an important point to tell us she will pick it up the next night. I was devastated because I wanted to know what the ending was going to be. She was that good. I never forgot it and wish I could tell a story like that. Our parents are our biggest influence. You grew up with books around you, and so did I.

  2. Michael, that was a great post. It reminded me that when I was about seven I made up a “newspaper” for my parents to read. I think it was my first writing experience. I’d forgotten all about that. Thank you we’re bringing that memory back to me. Marlena, thanks for hosting. 😊

  3. Lovely ‘when we were small’ nostalgia Michael :-) Both my parents were big on bedtime stories and loved looking at those wonderful picture books with us when we were pre-school and also indulged our Beatrix Potter addiction when we began to learn to read properly – magic times!

    Thanks for having us over Marlena :-D

  4. Michael, I enjoyed your post from yesterday, especially about taking any opportunity that’s available to get into some aspect of the writing process. For those of us who haven’t been fortunate enough to have been born with the gene for writing- assuming there is one – I’ve been know to grab a napkin at the table I’m at just to jot down a few key words before I forget them. I find that even thinking about my writing, as when I’m waiting in line, pays dividends when I’m able to actually do so. I think of it as “feeding” your brain with information. I’m convinced that brains are happiest when they’re processing information.

  5. When I was growing up, books were an important part of my family’s life. People were always amazed at the When I was growing up, books were an important part of my family’s life. People were always amazed at the vast number of books in practically every room of our house. It’s not much different now. I know someone who buys books in bulk, but only resells the ones that he can get $15 or more for (Textbooks and such). He BURNS the rest. I was horrified. I said, “Give them to me!” So now I have 2000+ sitting in boxes on one room. Now I only need to time to read them.number of books in practically every room of our house. It’s not much different now. I know someone who buys books in bulk, but only resells the ones that he can get $15 or more for (Textbooks and such). He BURNS the rest. I was horrified. I said, “Give them to me!” So now I have 2000+ sitting in boxes on one room. Now I only need to time to read them.

Leave a Reply

