Starting the New Year off…

Happy New Year, Bloggers!!

2014 was quite a year… busy and stressful, crazy and joyful, full of positive changes. It was nothing I expected, but everything I needed. (Remember, God has a plan. I have to trust him, so everything that happened, good and bad, was with purpose. Bottom line. End of story.)

I started a new job, working at a hotel as a desk clerk. The job alone proved to be stressful and much more than I could have anticipated. I’m praying for something better. Praying hard!!

One of the best things that happened in 2014 was becoming a member and the Secretary for Rave Reviews Book Club. I adore my RRBC family. They mean the absolute world to me and I am beyond blessed to be a part of such an extraordinary team. I cannot wait to see what 2015 has in store for us! (By the way, if you’re a lover of books – reading or writing – do yourself a favor and check out RRBC. Trust me, it will be life-changing!)

On other news, we encountered a situation that forced us to move from our home. But now we are closer to my family, so that has definitely been a blessing in disguise! My blog posts have not been plentiful, as they should be. No, instead, I have been needed elsewhere, so my writing time has been scarce. (Same for my reading time!)

 

So, out with the old, in with the new…

I have quite a bit planned for 2015. It’s time to get “serious” about some stuff. I’ll be thirty, after all. I want to get my first book published. That’s something I always wanted to do BEFORE I hit 3-0. So, that’s high on my to do list.

Of course, there’s quite a few other things, but we’ll get to those at another time.

Today, I want to give you another glimpse into my book. This particular “scene” is one of my favorites. It’s an important moment in the story. Just bear in mind that this has NOT been edited. lol   But do read, enjoy, share.  :)


Chapter 3

At eight o’clock Wednesday morning, I was walking into the station, immediately greeted by Ashley and dragged into the stylists department. Hair, makeup and wardrobe. What a whirlwind! Before I knew it, we were standing in front of the set. Mrs. Bridgeport quickly reviewed the scene and then my time was up. My nervousness had only grown at this point.

Ashley gave me a reassuring hug, reminding me to breathe and ignore the camera. I found my spot on set, said hello to my ‘friends,’ and took a deep breath.

“Everyone in your places. Rolling!” Mrs. B’s very loud cue to start the filming.

I concentrated on the people in front of me. Everyone moving their lips, but no words coming out. I found myself amused, even wanting to laugh. What was there to be nervous about? This is as easy as it was going to get. The next cast members entered the scene and, out of instinct, my eyes wandered. That’s when I saw him. Tall, dark, gorgeous. Complete with hair and eyes the color of one of my favorites things—rich, delicious chocolate. Our eyes locked. I couldn’t move. I forgot how to breathe. I lost total awareness.

“Cut! Back to the start. Keep your focus, people!”

Startled, my eyes flashed to Ashley. What just happened? What in the world am I doing? Okay, I have to keep my focus. Focus, focus, focus. I turned back to my group, closed my eyes and attempted to gain composure.

“Action.” Again we all commenced into a silent conversation. The other cast entered and I refused to allow myself to glance in his direction. I continued to look at my group, only my group. The scene soon finished and I hurried to the dressing room, still mortified.

Within minutes, I heard Ashley’s voice. “Samantha? Hey, there you are. You disappeared on me. How do you feel?”

“Relieved it’s over.”

She laughed. “Hardest part is done. It’ll be easier now since the initial fear has been overcome.”

“I messed up the scene.”

“You weren’t the only one that lost focus. Keegan did, too. It happens to all of us from time to time. It’s just part of it. It’s your first day; cut yourself some slack. Now, come have lunch with me. We’ve got an hour and I want to go to the café down the street.” I quickly agreed, glad to get away from the set.

Our lunch conversation consisted of more random facts about one another. We discovered we have a lot in common. Not only do we both have a passion for cooking, but also a love of novels, animals and being outside. Once again, the lunch hour sped by. We always seemed to get caught up in conversation and lose track of time.

Back at the studio, I sat in my observing booth, as I liked to call it, while the filming continued. Over the next few hours, I pondered over the previous incident. Keegan. Why had I not seen him before? Why did we both freeze? Stage fright, coincidence, plain idiocy on my part? Well, nonetheless, it was of little importance. He paid no attention to me for the remainder of the day, which I was perfectly content with. By the end of the day, I had written it off as nervousness.


 

I sincerely hope you enjoyed another inside look at my upcoming novel because I certainly enjoyed sharing it! Let me know if you want more!  ;)

Until next time, bloggers……………………………… love & blessings!!!

6 Comments

  1. Sounds exciting, Marlena–can’t wait to read the rest! Sharing your first novel with the world can be a daunting thing, but you will be received well because of the reputation you have built with RRBC, and your exemplary writing skills are showcased every week in the newsletter! I think your novel will be a huge success:) Congrats!

Leave a Reply

