Author Interview, Books, RRBC, Writing

Meet C.S. Boyack…

Good morning, bloggers!!

I am pleased to welcome a very special guest to my blog today, C.S. Boyack! Craig is an awesome member of Rave Reviews Book Club. He was selected as this week’s “SPOTLIGHT” Author for his participation in our Recruitment Day Blog Contest. Congrats to you, C.S.!! You deserve it!!

As always, sit back, relax and enjoy!!


Craig author pic

C. S. Boyack has a new book out called “The Cock of the South.” This is his first attempt at writing fantasy. It involves a group of conquered peoples banding together to ensure they have a place in the world. It is set in a Greco Roman environment, rife with everything fans of those stories might expect.


Today we have an unusual treat in store, an interview with an honest to God Greek Muse. Her name is Lorelei, and she is the inspiration behind the stories of C. S. Boyack. I don’t recall a Muse named Lorelei.

“Everyone knows what horn dogs the Greek Gods are. Do you really think in two thousand years they wouldn’t produce more children?”

I never thought of it that way. What drew you to Boyack? What makes him so special?
“He’s always been a creative guy. He just needed some focus. He tried playing instruments, poorly. Tried drawing, painting, even sculpting. I approached him back in the 1980s with my hair all poofed out, and wearing tight shorts and roller skates. He was weak at the time, because he had to learn something new for his job. It was called a word processor.
“I poured on the charm and got him to write Star Trek fan fiction. Once he learned the word processor, he gave it all up.”

Why on Earth would he do that. I mean with a Muse, you can’t fail. Right?
“Oh you can fail. Many have. He was more interested in girls and beer. Then life took over and it was hard to meet the bills. I moved on, but kept tabs on him. After his family matured, I approached him again, and the rest is history.”

So do you just sit around looking gorgeous, or what?
“Sometimes that’s enough. One time I disguised myself and stalked him for a week. When I had him cornered I revealed myself and forced him to write about how he felt. He’s pretty good at fear and suspense now.”

Do you give him stories, or characters?
“No. Sometimes I whisper in his ear at night. You never know what he’s going to do. One time, I whispered to him about unicorn colts playing in a forest glade. He woke up and wrote about aliens called Alabasters who pick through garbage and occasionally eat people.”

That’s terrible. Did that make it into one of his books?
“Sure did, it’s called Arson.”

Did you help him with the characters in The Cock of the South?
“We held interviews at his writing cabin for days. He passed up all the heroic characters I brought and chose a bunch of outcasts. I thought the story was doomed. He managed to make it all work. He always does, and that’s why I have faith in him.”
“He likes something he calls Easter Eggs too. There is a section in here where everyone attends a play. It’s presented in the Greek tradition and includes a deus ex machina ending. It is appropriate for the play, but not for the novel. He thinks it’s funny.”

Do you help him with his publishing and promotions too?
“That’s not what a Muse does. I don’t know why I let him talk me into this interview. He’s such an introvert, I thought I could handle it better. I don’t care if he ever publishes a thing, as long as he stays creative. It makes him so happy though. A good review can power him through a whole weekend of writing. In a way, that’s a win for me too.”

Are there more Muses out there? Do you think I could get one?
“There are many Muses. My older sisters are mostly retired now; not much call for epic poetry these days. One of my sisters works the YouTube market. Another one is big into DeviantArt. Muses find you, not the other way around. Maybe you’re being evaluated right now.”

Lorelei, thank you for visiting with us today. And final words about The Cock of the South?
“Yes, it’s a wonderful book about outsiders finding each other and trying to establish a place in a changing world. It has some violent sections, so you might proofread it before letting your
children read it.”

Cockof the south


You can follow Craig at the following places:
His blog, Entertaining Stories. http://coldhandboyack.wordpress.com
On Twitter.  https://mobile.twitter.com/Virgilante
You can pick up a copy of The Cock of the South at http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00P4H37WC


Thank you so much for stopping by today and showing your support to C.S. Boyack and Rave Reviews Book Club. Please continue your support to our “SPOTLIGHT” Author by visiting his other tour stops, listed on our website.

Until next time…………………………Happy Reading & Reviewing!!

23 thoughts on “Meet C.S. Boyack…”

  1. Your muse is a funny lady. I’ve got your book on my TBR list… but I might not get to it until January with so many others already lined up. I enjoy the Greco-Roman stuff so I’m looking forward to another great book from you.

  2. Hi Craig, I am happy I caught this before it ended. Congratulations on your blog tour. I enjoyed your conversation with your Muse. I believe all writers have one. With me, they come and go, but when they come, they make vey good company. :)

  3. OMG, Craig! Look at you! Spotlight Author. I couldn’t be more proud. Sorry I didn’t stop in sooner. Hard to believe but last week was overbooked. lol

    Congratulations on a tour well deserved. I hope it helps others to discover you. Your writing is so imaginative. I know you know, but I just have to say it again… I *loved* Arson.

    (Lorelei, you’ve done a wonderful job with Craig. You deserve a pat on the back, too.)

Leave a Reply

