The World Book Blog Tour

The World Book Blog Tour

The World Book Blog Tour is about connecting authors and readers across the globe. Each author is invited by a friend who, in turn, invites more friends. It’s truly a great and fun party!  :)

Thanks to J.V. Carr for adding me to the tour through her blog! (Sorry it has taken me SO LONG to finally do it!) I’m so excited to participate and grateful for the opportunity.

J.V. is a wife, mom to 6 and host mom to 4. She has a bachelor’s degree in Psychology and is the author of USERNAME: BLADEN (a YA novel) and PATTY CAKES AND THE STOLEN BALL (Children’s book). She is also an incredible member of Rave Reviews Book Club. Her blog is worth checking out! Full of reviews, writing tips, and so much more!

 

 

Here are the questions posed by The World Blog Tour:

1)  What am I working on?

I have a few different WIP. (It seems I’m ALWAYS multitasking!)  I’ll name my two favorite projects.  :)

* A MOMENTARY GLANCE is a YA romance about a small-town, early twenties girl reaching for her dreams.

* A horror screenplay that is in the very early stages. This is something my husband and I have talked about doing for quite some time. In short, it’s about a serial killer on a college campus.

 

2)  How does my work differ from others of its genre?

My YA romance novel contains a foundation of friendship, where the typical “happily ever after” may not happen. My plan is for it to be unpredictable, with real life elements of drama, but I don’t want the storyline to be just realistic, my characters will be too.

The horror screenplay will go against the typical clichés we often see. You know…the things we always know will happen. Like the girl is caught alone with the killer, so she immediately runs UPstairs. We all scream “NO!!” This will not be like that. No, I got back to realism. That’s something that’s very important to me in my own writing. I want to put the reader/viewer there in the story. I want them to feel that suspense, that fear (or romance in other cases).

 

3)  Why do I write what I do?

In simplest terms, I love it. It’s my passion. Writing is what I’ve always done, what I’ve always enjoyed. Way back in second grade, I was selected to attend the Young Author’s Conference in my home state. I had wrote a *very* simple story about my mother. That’s my earliest memory of writing. It’s a part of me, a huge part of my life. I feel lost when I go days without writing. It’s an addiction……a healthy addiction.

 

4) How does my writing process work?

I wouldn’t say I have a “routine” writing process. I start with whatever idea that pops into my head and let my fingers do the rest. For A MOMENTARY GLANCE, it all started with a dream. I actually saw my story being played out, as if it were on the big screen. (Yes, heartthrobs and all! ;) ) What was unusual for me is that I saw how the story ended before I knew how it began.

And, just so you know, I’ve had more dreams about this story since that first one. I’ve even had to go back and change some scenes because of those dreams. The heart wants what the heart wants, or, in this case, the mind.

 

 

Next stop on The World Blog Tour?

Let me just say that it is SO hard to choose just a few people. I’d love to hear lots more of your answer these questions. Which of course you can do in the comments section.  :)  But to pick a few…

Danica Cornell has been working effortlessly on her debut novel for the DARK STARS Series. (Can’t wait for this one!!) This will be an incredible Sci-Fi novel that you do not want to miss! Danica is also the PR/Marketing Guru of Rave Reviews Book Club. She’s quite the awesome lady with an equally awesome blog!

A.R. Rivera is the author of BETWEEN OCTOBERS, a suspenseful romance. She is a very talented writer and is quite the entertaining blogger. We go way back, don’t we AR? ;) I have been delighted to have her visit my blog before and I think everyone enjoyed it immensely.

Christa Simpson is the author of the TWISTED Series. Her books are filled with romance and suspense. She’s known for her amazing creation of sexy fellas and sassy ladies. And her book covers are……well, drool-worthy.  ;)  Her blog is another that I insist you check out!

 

Until next time…………………………love & blessings!!

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

