Writing

There’s a first time for everything…

Hello, bloggers!

I’m guessing you noticed the title of today’s post: “There’s a first time for everything…” Well, this will be my first time to put my writing, other than my blog postings and such, out for public viewing.

Today, I am sharing with you the PROLOGUE of my WIP, A Momentary Glance. Only a few close family members and friends actually. BUT because you all have been so supportive of me, I thought I would give you this little snippet. It’s very short, but it gives you an idea of what my novel is about.

If you like it, please let me know! (Or if you don’t, that’s okay too!)  Depending, I MAY just have to share another, longer snippet with you all.   :)

 


 

 PROLOGUE

I had always dreamed of doing something big with my life—making my mark. It was never about money or fame. It was about my passion. My passion for change and a better life. My passion to see the world and meet amazing people. What I’m trying to say, I suppose, is my passion, my dream is to act. As crazy as it may sound coming from someone as shy as me, it’s what I’ve always wanted to do. I want to be someone little girls can look up to, someone that can make a real difference in this crazy world that we live in. Being an actor, or any celebrity for that matter, you have the opportunity to influence…in a good way. I want to be that influence. That’s why I decided to take that first step—creating a portfolio. Thanks to a friend, I had some decent headshots and I’m relatively good with words; so my lack of experience will, hopefully, not be an issue. After submitting my work of art, as I prefer to call it, to several agencies, all I had left to do was wait.

Well, I’ve been waiting for TWO MONTHS. Two excruciating months! By this time, living in small town Linford Falls, everyone knew what I was trying to pursue. Maybe they’re right. Maybe this dream is unreachable. They tried to warn me. All of them, including my mom. A small town girl from South Carolina won’t make it far. I didn’t want to believe them, not a word, but what if they’re right? What if I never get my chance? What if my dreams never come true? Am I stuck living here? Forever in a small town?

 


Feel free to share your thoughts! I would love and appreciate your comments.  :)

 

Until next time………………………………………………love & blessings!!!

4 thoughts on “There’s a first time for everything…”

  1. You already know I adore your writing, Marlena. I am glad you are finally stepping out into traffic with the rest of us, making yourself vulnerable…knowing a mack truck come knock the living daylights out of you at any minute. But, the rush of thinking you might be able to dodge all the obstacles is a very empowering feeling!
    I can completely identify with your main character already just from this small tidbit of information you have divulged so far. For me, as a writer, it is never about the money or the fame. It’s about having a voice and knowing my words have power. I can’t wait to see more from you!!

    1. Thank you so much, Traci! Your comments are so kind. :) I’m glad you could identify with my character. I put a good deal of myself in her. I plan to post more later on. Hopefully, you’ll like it too!

Leave a Reply

