Meet Kathryn C. Treat…

Good morning, bloggers!!

I would like to welcome this week’s “SPOTLIGHT” Author to my blog. This talented lady, Kathryn Treat, is not only a supportive member of Rave Reviews Book Club, but she is also the Membership Director.

Her story is one that has already touched many lives and it may, very well, touch yours. So as always, sit back, relax and enjoy………

 


 

What Is She Saying?

I am not a part of this world
When I speak, strange
terms come from my lips
People look at me with my mask
as if I am an alien
Holed up here inside my room—
stripped bare of carpet
I try to keep myself and my mind occupied
There is no one to talk to who
really understands me
After all, who is allergic to their house,
their food,
and everything around them.

 

Book Cover

Allergic to Life: My Battle for Survival, Courage, and Hope is the story of my long journey through one unexplainable illness after another with bacterial infections that my own doctor had never seen before. I became more aware of molds, mycotoxins, and sensitivities than some of the doctors I saw. Depression became my constant daily companion as I fought to survive and find the courage to live a life of isolation and loss. Phrases like provocation/neutralization, immune dysfunction, autonomic nervous system, neutralizing endpoint, and heat depuration caused baffled responses by those I tried to talk with.

 

As my isolation, loneliness, and anger took over, I realized I needed to tell my story to whoever would listen. I needed to share my story so others would see how devastating mold can be and what it is like for me and countless unseen others to live a life in the stronghold of environmental illness where the very food we eat and our once beautiful carpet can now make us violently ill; a life where the slightest hint of a chemical can make us ill for days or weeks or months. This is an invisible illness. We do not wear our illness on the outside, our illness ravages under the surface and behind our masked faces. It became my mission to not only tell my story but to bring awareness to others of the layers of chemicals they are putting on their bodies every day in their scented shampoos, conditioners, lotions, hair spray, make-up, laundry soaps, perfumes and cologne.

 

Allergic to Life can be purchased at Amazon and Barnes and Noble. Signed copies may be purchased at Kathryn’s website.

Connect with Kathryn:

IMG_2798

Kathryntreat.com
Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Wordpress –   allergictolifemybattle or BeMyGuest


I hope you enjoyed today’s special guest! ALLERGIC TO LIFE comes highly recommended. I’ve heard rave reviews, so don’t miss this great read by this talented lady.

Until next time…………………………………………Happy Reading & Reviewing!!!

25 Comments

  1. Pingback: What Is She Saying? | allergictolifemybattle

  2. Hi Marlena, thank you for hosting, Kathryn. Kathryn, every time I read one of your posts, I feel as though I understand a bit more about what you’ve gone through. Congrats again on your SPOTLIGHT Author nomination, and best wishes for your continued success. xoxo :)

Leave a Reply

