Books, Business, Life, Writing

Weekly Review #35

Good afternoon, lovelies!!!

I hope you all have had a fabulous week!! It has been busy, busy! Things are hopping here in Alabama! If you’ve read some of my recent posts, then you know I’ve been hosting some awesome authors through Rave Reviews Book Club’s “SPOTLIGHT” Author Program. If you haven’t seen these posts, I recommend scooting on over to see them! Of course, only AFTER you’ve finished this post.  :)

Also if you’ve kept up with me, you’ve read about the odd incidents that have happened around my house. Well, those odd incidents continue! My poor dog. I’m not sure what’s going on with her, but she hasn’t been the same for the last two weeks! She’s so skiddish and keeps trying to dart in the house, even though she knows that’s a major no-no. (Unless it’s cold or bad weather. I’m not a horrible mum!) Anywho, yes, she’s been acting peculiar. And I still hear weird noises that hubby plays dumb to. However, I haven’t been visited by any males voices since the first occurrence. I’m glad of that. I still get chills thinking about it! Could you imagine???

 

Time for the update!!

 

WRITING:  My first novel is progressing. Slowly, but surely! I just passed an awesome milestone (even if it’s huge only to me)…30,000 words!! I was so thrilled when I saw my word count. I am so ready to be at the editing stages; although, I’m not certain of who I will get to edit. I’m still new to so many areas of the writing world. I’m taking one day at a time. I have to finish my first draft before anything else can happen!!

I did *finally* find someone that could fill in the gaps of certain areas of my book. I’m thankful for her and the info she’s given me. I plan to acknowledge her for her awesomeness.

BUSINESS:  A Shining Moment has its first event NEXT SATURDAY!! Okay, this is another huge for me! Yes, I’m fully aware that it’s only my husband’s class reunion, BUT it’s a start! That’s all any business needs, right? A stepping stone, a foot in the door. And I must say…I think the reunion is going to be spectacular. I have some awesome things planned and cannot wait to visit the venue this weekend. I have to narrow down my decorating choices, which I will do after this visit.

ADVOCARE:  We had our first mixer. It was…nothing like I expected. I won’t tell you how many people attended, but I will tell you I bought entirely too much food. On a good note, though, we are selling. Not as much as I’d like, of course. You hear all these amazing stories about people using AdvoCare as a vehicle to a better life. Paying off debt, quitting a mundane 9-to-5 job, taking grand vacations…well, where is that at??? Apparently, the folks of Alabama aren’t too keen on trying something new. But let me just tell you. AdvoCare is amazing. I’m a skeptic…about everything! Ask anyone! But this stuff really is life-changing. I couldn’t imagine going a DAY without my Spark. What it does is in it’s name. It will put a SPARK back in your life! This is the best energy product they have, in my opinion. It’s powder that you mix with water–multiple flavors–and I drink it two times a day on an empty stomach. The best part is that it actually tastes good and there’s NO crash. Did I mention that all of this stuff is healthy? Yep! Backed by a science & medical board with over 200 years of combined experience. Pretty awesome, I know.

Now tell me…why have you NOT asked me for more info?? I don’t type all of this info just to ‘hear’ myself talk. If I believe in something, I’m going to share with the world. So there!  :)

 

Now for the REVIEWS!!

 

THE QUEST WITHIN ME by Daniel C. Davis

Just as the title suggests, this book is about the quest that the author embarks on. This spiritual journey allows him to find true happiness, through a number of elements—inner peace, forgiveness, honesty, etc.

The Quest Within Me is a well-written book, that is both thought-provoking and inspirational. The sincerity and passion behind the author’s words is evident throughout. It’s easy to get lost in those words and become a part of the journey. You see what he sees, feel what he feels, want what he wants. There are some incredible lessons here, ones that we all could appreciate and learn from. This is a 5-star read that should be taken advantage of, over and over again.

 

****************************************************

 

AFRICAN ME & SATELLITE TV by Jo Robinson

In this book, we find Suzette. A woman that has shut down from life and those that love her, ignoring reality and any pain that may come with it. After a new family moves in, things take a turn for the worse. A brutal beating of an elderly domestic worker brings about a chain of events that no one could have expected.

Everything about this book is wonderful and very deserving of 5 stars. The author will captivate you from page one, making it very difficult to put the book down. We see real situations, real heartache. A story that is so gripping and emotional that you will be moved to tears and writing that is so powerful that you will feels as though you are in Suzette’s shoes.

The characters we meet are remarkable—witty, brave and strong. Some of which have to fight against all odds. Suzette, though, is the one you truly feel for, the one you root for, hoping for something good to come from all the turmoil she is forced to face.

African Me & Satellite TV is full of suspense, but we also see hope and love and humor. This is a book worth reading, a book that will touch your heart.

 

 

As always, thank you for stopping by and visiting with me today. I always enjoy getting my thoughts out there. Feel free to share yours!

 

Until next time……………………………………love & blessings!!

 

2 thoughts on “Weekly Review #35”

Leave a Reply

