Life

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!!!

Good afternoon, wonderful bloggers!! I’m going to jump straight to the point of today’s special post…

 

I have always been told that we (my family) have Irish in our blood. I haven’t researched my family history (YET), so I’m not certain of this. Although, I hope it’s true. I find the Irish history fascinating. Well, the parts I know. My favorite symbol happens to be the Claddagh, which is Irish. I love what it represents. In fact, we used this symbol in our wedding. For those of you that don’t know, the Claddagh is a symbol of love, loyalty, friendship, and fidelity.

Claddagh 3

“The hands are there for friendship, the heart is there for love.
For loyalty throughout the year, the crown is raised above.”

I’m sure you all know how much I enjoy researching. Well, today seems like a great day to do that. (It’s very rainy here. And gloomy!) Our resource for the day is < spoonful.com >. So here is a brief history of St. Patrick & the day we celebrate him.

~ St. Patrick was born in Britain during the 4th Century. He was kidnapped and enslaved by Irish Raiders when he was a teenager. He escaped after six years, becoming a priest in Britain, only to return to Ireland as a missionary. He wanted to spread the teachings of Christianity. He did this for thirty years, baptizing those that chose to convert to Christianity and also establishing churches and monasteries. He died on March 17th and was praised as a Saint by the local church.

St. Patrick’s Day was first celebrated in Boston in 1737, where many Irish immigrants lived. In 1931, in Dublin, the first St. Patrick’s Day Parade was held. It wasn’t until 1995 that this day became a national holiday, by the Irish Government in an attempt to increase tourism. ~

Today, St. Patrick’s day is celebrated by millions. Whether it’s through a religious feast, parade or dancing……it is a HUGE celebration. Do you celebrate? If so, what are your traditions? I’d love to hear some!

Here are some quotes & Irish blessings I discovered during my research:

~ May your blessings outnumber the shamrocks that grow, And may trouble avoid you wherever you go.
~ May you live as long as you want and never want as long as you live.
~ May the Irish hills caress you. May her lakes and rivers bless you. May the luck of the Irish enfold you. May the blessings of Saint Patrick behold you.

 

I hope you enjoyed the post. I’m glad you stopped by!!! :)

Until next time, lovelies………………………………………love & Irish blessings.

Leave a Reply

