Weekly Review #32

Good morning, lovelies! It has been a long time since I’ve provided a weekly update. Next week, we should be back to normal routine. That’s the plan at least! And you all know how that goes…

 

To start today off, allow me to give a quick review…I have had the pleasure of being introduced to a wonderful band, Failure Machine. One of the gentleman of the group sent me a message, after reading my interview with fellow musician Doug Balmain. He introduced himself and told me a little about his band. Well, I visited their website and listened to some of their music. They have a great sound, very unique. I especially like their version of Blurred Lines. Heck, I like all the songs! They’re kind of awesome! :-) And are definitely worth checking out! In my opinion (and I do love my music and am picky), they have potential to go far. We can help them out by spreading the word about how great they are. You’ll find their links below.

 

 

I have thoroughly enjoyed helping the Rave Reviews Book Club, over the last month or so. I took part in their Spotlight Authors blog posts. (Which I hope you read and loved and then went out and bought the books!) The four authors that were featured were wonderful. And they have so much support, all because of the book club. It has been a pleasure getting to know so many talented people! I look forward to seeing whats in store for the authors and club members.

~Side Note~
This is an amazing book club. The people are awesome (I’ve become friends with several of them, thanks to Twitter) and so are the authors and the books they recommend.
They’re currently accepting new members and it would greatly benefit you to head over to their site and submit your info. Trust me on this. I just did the same. So what are you waiting for???

My own writing is still coming along. I’m hoping to start spending a little more time on it now. I’m still working on my romance novel. I’ve been struggling with it some, having difficulty seeing where my characters are going. Well, I know where they’re going, just not sure exactly how they’re getting there. I’m hoping inspiration will hit me soon. And if you have any advice, I am all ears! Help me!  :-)

Chad’s head injury has healed nicely. The stitches are out, much to his relief. He’s doing great. He left this morning for his first work trip in Dallas. Thankfully, he’ll only be gone a few days. I’m just grateful he’s okay. The whole incident unnerved me. Completely! It was such a scary situation and how bad it could’ve been makes me nauseous. He’s my life, my one and only. I’m not sure what I would do without him. But that’s neither here nor there so I won’t even start to get into that subject. It’ll make me even more emotional than I already him! lol

I’m still reading like crazy, some every day. A good friend loaned me her set of the Fifty Shades Trilogy. I’m in the third and final book now. I’ve always been curious about them because of all the comments people were making. Some say the books are amazing and worth reading. Others say they are wrote poorly and to not waste your time. I can see where both are coming from. The storyline is captivating. The characters are dynamic. I especially love the stubbornness and innocence of Anastasia. And the passion she and Christian share will make your heart melt. The uniqueness there is between these two main characters is intense. They are so different, yet so similar. That being said, I can see how it is ‘poorly written.’ At times through the books (especially the first), the author attempts to use a rather big word that doesn’t always fit. I’m no genius, but I know my English and the grammar, spellings, etc. I had to look up some of the words because they just didn’t make sense. Another issue is that there was quite a bit of repetitiveness. One can only handle certain phrases so many times. (e.g. biting her lip drives Christian crazy. Anastasia has a beautiful body, but she doesn’t see it.) It was a little overdone, to say the least. But anyways………the trilogy is not absolutely horrible. If you like romance and passion, with a little suspense and mystery here and there, the books are enjoyable. Just keep an open mind.

 

Next topic–my business. My first event is in the works. My husband’s 15 year Class Reunion.  :-)  I cannot wait! We finally got to sit down with his best friend, the Class Prez, and hashed out some details. Now I have to do some research. We have the location (complete with food) and the date decided on. Early April. I have some calls and visits I need to make, more quotes to get. Its coming together nicely though. I’m very excited about this!

I’m still going AdvoStrong! I love my AdvoCare products. I feel so much better when I have my Spark. Recently, I’ve been told that drinking a Spark is like drinking a coffee. Let me tell you…that is SO TRUE!! But there’s a big difference in the two. Spark is full of vitamins and nutrients and doesn’t end with jitters or a crash. It is amazing! And I refuse to go without my Omegaplex. Its all the good fats that your body needs; plus it improves skin, hair, & nails. Makes me feel fabulous.  ;)

 

I have one book review for you today–CALIFORNIA HOMECOMING by Casey Dawes. In this book, we learn about Sarah Ladina. She is pregnant and alone and wants nothing but the best for her soon-to-be-born baby. She takes on more than she bargained for when she buys an old Victorian house, with the plans of turning it into an inn. On her first day at the house, she meets a disabled vet–Hunter Evans–who lived in the house as a child. Hunter is persistent in his attempt to have some form of connection to the house, even if it means acting as the handyman. To add more drama to her already complicated life, her ex tries to reenter the picture. After being put on modified bedrest, Sarah is forced to ask for help, in hopes of getting the inn completed. Not only is she having to sit back and watch her new friends do all the work on her inn, but she is also left with a confused heart, not knowing what path to take.

This is a wonderful story. The characters are charming and witty and you can’t help but fall in love with them. As the reader, you feel for Sarah and long for her to be happy. The same can be said for Hunter–the poor man has had rotten luck. The drama that unfolds for the characters makes you anxious for something good to happen. And the inevitable chemistry between Sarah and Hunter is adorable; there are parts that melt your heart.

The storyline flows nicely, keeping the reader in tune with the different characters, their thoughts, and their feelings. Once the book is over, you’re left wanting more–wanting to continue on the journey with Sarah and Hunter and the inn. Definitely worthy of 5 stars!

I hope you all have a fabulous rest of the week. I am so thankful for each of you. Thank you for taking the time to follow me, read my posts, like and comment. You are more appreciated than you realize. I love hearing your thoughts, even if it doesn’t pertain to anything I’ve mentioned. I love meeting people, I love making friends. So don’t be a stranger!  :-)
Until next time………………………………………………love & blessings!
Leave a Reply

