Books

Weekly Review #28

Good morning! It is so good to be back online! I took that time off, just like I said, but I am thankful to be back. I’ve missed all my social friends! (Twitter especially!)

I hope everyone had a joyous and blessed Christmas. I certainly did! And I am ready to bring in the New Year. I have high expectations for 2014. Quite a bit on my to do list. There will be progress in my event planning business, as well as my writing. I will get things done this year. No more procrastinating! Absolutely none this year. (Thats on my list of resolutions.) I also plan to get some work done on the house, even if that means just decluttering and reorganizing. I’ll do what I can! But I sincerely hope, plan, and pray that my main focus this year is my writing. I have to stop wasting time, worrying about what will be. Nothing will be if I don’t do.  <—–Remember that, readers! If you want something to happen; if you want something to change; if you want things to be better………YOU have to do something about it. It won’t happen on its own. Thats some good advice that we both should take.  :)

With that being said, I wish you a prosperous, successful, blissful, and Happy New Year. Make a resolution and make it happen. You are the only thing stopping you.

 

Anywho……………

For your reading pleasure, I have one book review that I very much enjoyed typing up. The book is excellent and should definitely be on your must-read list for 2014. Enjoy!

 

The Secrets of the Montebellis by Cheryl Colwell is about Lisa Richards, who is the Guardian of Fire Mountain—a mine that used to contain precious fire opals. She is up against many people, some who are trying to steal the mountain from her family and some trying to keep her from reviving the small town of her ancestors. She could be risking a lot, including her marriage and even her life. Along the way, she meets Steven Taylor, who immediately notices there’s more to Lisa than she lets on. He may be the one to discover her secrets that she has been hiding from everyone else. It could either destroy her or help her.

This is a wonderful book, definitely deserving of 5 stars! There are so many good qualities about The Secrets of the Montebellis. From beginning to end, it keeps you guessing and in complete suspense. Add in a mixture of mystery, drama, and romance and you have the perfect book to escape in. The characters are dynamic and I immediately fell in love with them. Lisa is such a strong woman with so much against her, but she never gives up and is fortunate to have her family and friends there with full support. That being another nice touch—family and friends being very important throughout the book.

And, in all honesty, I don’t know how much research went into this novel. Or how much of it was based on truth. Regardless, I found myself fascinated in the history of Lisa’s family and the mine. It seemed so realistic and I think the history made the story that much more appealing.

 

 

I hope you enjoyed today’s review. As I said, I did. As a matter of fact, I have enjoyed all my reviews, all my interviews, and all my special posts. This year has been wonderful and I’m still learning. So I know next year will be even better! Thank you, all my devoted readers–new and old, thank you for reading and following and commenting. You are the reason I do this, you are the reason I blog and put my thoughts out there. And I have enjoyed every minute and I look forward to starting new traditions with you in the new year. So as I always say………

 

Until next time………………………………………love & blessings.

 

P.S. I’ll see you in the new year!  ;)

Leave a Reply

