Author Interview, Books, Interview

Interview #11 with Sidney Moore

Good morning, bloggers. I’m glad you stopped by for another awesome interview. Today, we have Sidney Moore. He is a talented writer, both in journalism and books. We’ll be learning about him and his debut novel Dinner Thieves. This is one you don’t want to miss!  :-)  Enjoy!

 

1)  How did you become an author?

To be quite honest, I have no idea how I became an author. There’s a lot of smoke and mirrors around that one, but my mother said I’ve been writing stories since I learned to write. My brother said I was always telling these crazy stories when I was a kid. Then one day, I was forced to take a creative writing class by my English teacher, Mrs. Karen McGhee, and that was it.

2)  What inspired you to write Dinner Thieves?

The things I witnessed as a kid growing up in the equivalent of a drug-infested warzone led me to want to write about it. The environment was different for me, because I was around these types of people during their most vulnerable moments, when they were normal people so to speak. So, instead of seeing the portrayal on the news I had the chance to learn the inner workings of the mind of a person willing to do anything to escape poverty.

3)  Please entice the readers with some details on what they can expect from your debut novel.

They can expect a high speed and accurate journey into the world into the underworld that we always want to see on television and movies but never actually experienced for themselves. The story is told from the perspective of a 15 year old who is trying to balance being a son, a student, and an overall survivalist in the middle of a warzone. After reading it, they should at least have a better understanding of what causes certain events to take place in people’s lives.

4)  What was the most difficult part of getting your book into the public world?

Finding a literary agent and the whole publishing gamut. I had an agent before who had a heart attack and was referred to another agent. The new one loved my material but was unprofessional in every sense of the word. Another company wanted to insult me with a buyout that could possibly go into the history books as the most appalling deal ever. Thankfully, I have found a wonderful editor, Melissa J. Fogarty, who is going over Dinner Thieves for me, and we plan to continue to work together until the wheels fall off.

5)  Has your work as a freelancer contributed to your work as an author?

I’m not too sure except that maybe people have noticed the name a little more. The paper I write for ran a story about me and how I actually began to write. In that story Dinner Thieves was spoken of and the cover art was ran, but other than that I’m not positive that my journalism contributed anything to it.

6)  What do you think makes you standout from other authors?

I’m the voice of a generation that was considered the afterbirth of the nation. We were muted and swept under the rug. Also, the fact that I’m a people person and able to relate to virtually anyone makes me stand out. I write what moves me, not necessarily what sells. If there’s a story brewing in my head like a hurricane, I’m going to write it regardless of what anyone has to say.

7)  What can we expect from you in future projects?

Well there are more stories in the Forlorn Hope series that follow Leak, the main character in Dinner Thieves. But the next story will be Crystal Kings, which is about a group of military vets who return from the Iraqi war with nothing going for them, and regular people who all venture into the Meth trade for a better living.

8)  What part of writing do you find most exhilarating?

The actually act of writing the story is the most exhilarating for me. It’s like raising a child and watching them grow. It’s a rush similar to parenting, especially when the story turns out to be a really good one. Then when others read it and love the story, it makes something stir within you. I just don’t like ending it. It’s like man I need to get that feeling again, so I pick up the pen and go.

9)  What advice would you give to an aspiring writer?

Work hard and never forget that it’s a writer’s job to convey information. In order to that you have to pay attention to everything around you. The best part of the story is in the details. And never let a person tell you something can’t be done.

10)  Aside from writing, what are your passions in life? What do you hold close to your heart?

I love music and traveling everywhere. That’s just something that I’ve always been drawn to. I suffer from wanderlust really bad and tend to go places on impulse. But the things I hold close to heart are good music, especially live music, and just being places that give me a chance to breathe and remember that life isn’t always about the hustle and bustle.

11)  Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

Five years from now I want to be living on an island in the Caribbean with my own beach, but realistically I just want to be a recognized and respected author with a steady following.

12)  Is there anything else you would like to add for our readers?

Brand yourself! I have a favorite quote from Albert Einstein that I wear on my arm in ink. “Great spirits have often encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds.” With that said, don’t let a person who gave up on their dreams ridicule your dreams.

 

 

Thank you for stopping by today! Do yourself a favor and check out Sidney’s book. And when you do, let him know what you think! You’ll find his Amazon link below, along with where you can find him online.

Amazon: Dinner Thieves (The Forlorn Hope)

pic

Twiiter:  https://twitter.com/the_sidneymoore

 

Until next time…………………………………………

Leave a Reply

