Books, Writing

Weekly Review #26

Good afternoon, lovelies! Happy Monday to you all!

Looking out the window, it appears to be a beautiful day here in the south. But it is an illusion; it’s quite cold! I’m assuming that same thing can be said for many of your homes. Nonetheless, it’s up to us to make it a wonderful day and I hope all of you are able to do just that.  :-)

Not much excitement to post about today. We’ve been updating some of our furniture, so between that and Christmas, I’ve been busy. As usual! My mind has been racing though, full of inspiration for my writing. I’ve dreamed a new ending to my romance novel. It took me by complete surprise, but I really like it and I think it greatly improves the conclusion. *big smiles* I can’t wait to dive back into my stories. I’m anxious to see where things go.

My blog interviews are still going well. I have a few more scheduled, but am ready to add some more to my list. So if you or someone you know may be interested, please contact me. I would love to tell your story! Writing, blogging, cooking, crafts, remodeling, so on and so forth. The possibilities are limitless!

For you this week, I have two reviews. Both well deserving of 5 stars. Enjoy!  :-)

Pastels & Jingle Bells by Christine S. Feldman. In this novella, we read about Trish Ackerly. Although now she owns a bakery and is quite the talented artist, she was bullied (and scarred) back in grade school. Her nemesis—Ian Rafferty—of that bullying walks into her bakery, giving her the hope of returned justice, the perfect Christmas gift. Opportunity presents itself when her painting services are requested of him. To her surprise, he is a changed man, causing her effort at revenge to not be so much effort. She learns he is full of surprises, good surprises. Only he has no clue of her true identity. So she is left with some tough decisions, realizing her new Christmas wish is the man in front of her.

I absolutely adored this book, melted my heart! I was sad it was over! It’s a wonderful combination of romance and humor. It is the perfect Christmas story, with hope, joy, and cheer. The characters are loveable and the story is heartwarming. The bond that develops between Trish and Ian’s daughter is precious. And the ending just left me in awe, eager for the next story. Definitely 5 stars, a must read!

 

The School of Ministry: The Windgate by Braxton A, Cosby revolves around Ziv. We learn about his past, that both his parents were murdered, leaving him orphaned and forced to go in and out of foster homes. As an adult, he lives a life that is more evil than good. That is, until he discovers and accepts his gift of sight—seeing creatures from the afterlife. Ziv, along with two other men that share similar gifts, is recruited by The School of Ministry, a secret society that’s purpose is to eradicate evil and help the weak. Ziv is left with a tough decision. His best friend, Stephanie, goes missing and to find her, he must join The School of Ministry. To join means starting a new life, completing training and challenges to prepare him for whats to come. A true test of Good versus Evil.

This is a superb read! It’s intriguing and captivating. A novel of adventure, courage, hope, and even a little humor and romance. It pulls you in, putting you alongside Ziv, joining his journey to a potentially better life. The battle of Good versus Evil is throughout the book and gives the novel a nice element of suspense, making you wonder what will happen next. Each character is unique and adds depth to the storyline. The relationships that form also contribute to that depth and meaningfulness. Another wonderful element is the Christian theme, the true purpose behind The School of Ministry.

Thank you for stopping by my weekly review. I hope to see you back here Wednesday for a fabulous interview with an even more fabulous writer.  Don’t forget to leave some feedback. I always enjoy hearing what you have to say!

Until next time………………………………love & blessings!

Leave a Reply

