Weekly Review #25

Good morning, bloggers! Hope this post finds you in an excellent mood. Despite the fact that it is Monday.

We are now 16 days from Christmas and I cannot wait (as I have said previously, probably numerous times!). I am excited though. I love Christmas and the joy you find in people’s eyes. I love giving to others and making their day that much more special. I just enjoy making others happy. It makes me happy.

I’ve been in work mode over the last few days. I’ve spoken with a few people in the wedding field and it gets me pretty pumped about my own business. Some of the items I need to get things really going, I should be getting for Christmas. What I don’t get for Christmas, I’ll be able to get at the first of the year. Hopefully. I have a lot of things on my wish list. I need Microsoft Publisher to finish my portfolio. I need a set of wireless headsets/walkie-talkies for event staff communication. And several other things that I won’t bore you with. I have a vision. A great vision. And I’m a little impatient, I suppose. Because I’m ready for things to just be done. I’m ready to go out and speak with people with a better certainty of my business. I’m ready for that first event. I’m trying desperately to remember that this is a gradual process for a reason. Patience, however, is difficult to manage.

So onto the next subject………

I have a question for you, my readers. I have thoroughly enjoyed my Wednesday posts with special guests. I have had the pleasure of meeting the nicest people. And talented people, at that! I’m so glad I started the interviews. And I sincerely hope they continue. With that being said, I would love some suggestions on who you would like to see featured. And, even though a majority of my guests have been authors, they don’t have to be an author. Everyone has a story to tell. Everyone has something that is worth being heard.

And while you’re at it, I would love to hear your thoughts on possible topics. What would you like to see posted during the week? Recipes, crafts, movie reviews, remodeling, how-tos…………the possibilities are limitless!  Give me your ideas. I’ll listen to each recommendation and see what I can come up with.

Enough of that, onto our reviews. I have two for you today. Two awesome books you must check out.

The Power of Two by Lori J. Sawicki is about a sixth grader, Jamie. She decides to try something new to break out of the cool girl, Sadie’s routine. Her plan backfires and she is kicked out of the ‘cool group.’ To her relief, she befriends Pru Wheeler, the smallest sixth grader. They connect almost immediately and form a tight friendship. The two decide to start a lacrosse team, that’s open to all students, not just those from Sadie’s clique. When things seem to be going great, tragedy strikes and Jamie is forced to make some tough decisions.

This book is wonderful! Everything about it makes it worth reading. The storyline flows; the characters are strong and unique. It shows the importance of friendship and family. There’s heartache and drama, as well as courage and strength. I literally cried with it, which says a lot coming from me. It touches on some serious issues that a lot of younger people are being forced to deal with. It’s appropriate for anyone, young or young at heart.

 

My second review is for It Happened Under the Mistletoe by Valerie Bowman. This is a wonderful holiday novella. We are introduced to two main characters, Oliver Townsende and Cerian Blake. Both of which are having difficulty fighting off the opposite sex. Oliver recently inherited a dukedom, so ladies are after him for the title and the money that comes with it. While Cerian has an interfering mother, that is bound and determined to find her a proper mate. Neither of them are interested in these suitors, so they devise a plan. They fake a courtship to keep their suitors at bay. Only the arrangement turns out to be more than either one bargained for.

I enjoyed this novella very much! From page one, I was glued; I couldn’t put my kindle down. There’s humor and passion and romance. It just lifts your spirit! Perfect for the holiday season. The characters are easy to fall in love with. They are charming and quick-witted. You find yourself rooting for them. The storyline is superb, leaving you wanting more. This is a pleasurable read I would recommend to anyone.

 

I hope you enjoyed today’s post. I look forward to hearing your thoughts and ideas. Please do share! Either comment below or use the Contact Me page.

Until next time………………………………love & blessings!

2 Comments

  1. I have been enjoying your reviews. I write a “clean” weekly humor blog, and I would very much appreciate your taking a look at it. So much humor these days is “blue.” Thank you for your consideration.

    Jocularious.com

Leave a Reply

