Author Interview, Books, Interview

Interview #9 with Nonnie Jules

Good afternoon, bloggers! Welcome to another edition of Wednesday Interviews. Today’s featured guest is a wonderful lady, quite the talented writer. She has a delightful blog, that I personally enjoy. It’s entertaining, enlightening, and inspiring. I recommend you checking it out. And while you’re at it, do yourself a favor and buy her book! ( I just started reading it and its kind of awesome! )

                                                                                                                      

My name is Nonnie Jules.  Although I was born in TX, I relocated to Louisiana when I was a toddler and I still live there today with my two wonderful daughters, my husband and all our wonderful 4-legged babies.

My first published piece of work is “THE GOOD MOMMIES’ GUIDE TO RAISING (ALMOST) PERFECT DAUGHTERS”, 100 Tips On Raising Daughters Everyone Can’t Help But Love!  It was published in May of this year (2013) and has done well. That in no way means that it can’t do better and it is my hope and my prayer that it will, because it is what the parents of the world need today.

My debut novel “DAYDREAM’S DAUGHTER, NIGHTMARE’S FRIEND” was recently published, at the end of November.  It’s in ebook format only right now but you will be able to purchase paperback copies beginning Thursday, Dec. 5, 2013.  Now, I will turn it over to our host, Marlena.

1)  Have you always wanted to write?

I began writing poetry as a child.  Although I can’t say I’ve always wanted to write, I do know that I have always been a lover of words, written and spoken.

2)  What inspired you to write your debut novel?

I’ve had a novel in my head since I was in my early twenties, it just found a way out of my head recently.  Since penning my parenting guide, I wanted to try my hand at something a bit more challenging, and let me tell you, there was a big difference between writing the two.

3)  Will you tell the readers about Daydream’s Daughter, Nightmare’s Friend?

DD, NF is a young girl’s story (Maiya) which begins when she was a teenager, around 15 or 16.  She has a hellish home life because of her mom and her stepfather.  She’s being abused by both, but I won’t say how.  When the abuse comes to light and to the attention of her grandmother, she leaves the hell and starts to flourish in a better environment.  One day she meets a friend who is not one that her grandmother is too happy about and after spending an afternoon with him, she makes a decision that changes the entire course of her life forever.  I could go on and on here, and would end up giving you spoilers so, I will stop.  You’ll have to get the book and read it.  It’s so good!

4)  What do you hope readers experience from this novel?

As all can tell by the penning of my first book, my parenting guide, I’m a big proponent of good/great parenting.  I think when you fail your child in the ways that Maiya’s mom failed her, you also fail the world.  You let us all down.  So, I hope that people take from this that it’s very important to love your children extremely hard so that they don’t turn into something you don’t want them to.  So that they don’t turn to the kinds of people that aren’t good influences on their lives, etc.

5)  What can we expect from you in future projects?

My future projects include the 2nd edition of THE GOOD MOMMIES’ GUIDE… it’s on raising (almost) perfect kids and it is due to release in February, 2014.  I have a children’s book that’s been put on hold for so long, I will finally release it sometime next year, maybe around Easter, a poetry book by the summertime (hopefully) and if the fans fall in love with the characters of DD, NF, the sequel in November of 2014.

6)  What part of writing do you find most exhilarating?

I find that creating characters is the most exhilarating part of writing.  They can be as boring as you want or as complex as you want….as nice as an angel or with pitchforks in their hands, they can be all that you want them to be. The creating is what drives me most.

7)  You, along with three partners, started your own publishing company. Has working from the publishing aspect helped with your writing?

Yes, we recently founded 4WillsPublishing and still getting it off the ground.  It’s still in the early stages, but I am having to learn a lot more about the business, than I probably would have had I just stuck to only writing.

8)  What advice would you give to an aspiring writer?

Seriously Marlena, right now, I would send an aspiring writer straight to my blog Watch Nonnie Write!  because it has so much information on so many different topics that you wouldn’t expect.  It talks about social networking, how to tune out the naysayers and so many other things.  So right here, right now, that’s the advice I’d give a newbie and I love newbies!

9)  Aside from writing, what are your passions in life? What do you hold close to your heart?

My passions are my darling daughters, all children and helping others.  Those are the things that make me the happiest.  Every time I’m in public, whether a restaurant or a grocery store and I see a little child, I instantly start to connect with them.  The parents love it!  It’s my gift from GOD.  Being able to connect with kids.

10) You have a wonderful & entertaining blog that often promotes fellow authors. It’s evident that you enjoy helping others. Who has helped you make it to where you are?

I think other people helping me!  I do love helping others, sometimes at the detriment of my own self, but if I’m going to be honest here, other people lending their support to me when I’ve asked them to is what has gotten me thus far.  Along with my drive and determination, as well.  Can’t leave that out now can I.

11) Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

In 5 years I see myself having tea with J.K. Rowlings and professionally, we’re on the same level!  [smile]

12) Is there anything else you would like to add for the readers?

I would like to invite all of you wonderful people who have stopped by to follow me on Twitter as well as on my blogs.  I would also ask that you check out both of my books as well as their book trailers.  All these links are listed below.  If you’d like to follow the rest of my tour, or even if you’d like to go back to the 3 previous stops, you can do so here {Tour Schedule}.

Lastly, please don’t leave without leaving a comment  below, authors really love those.  AND, for each leg of my tour, every time you leave a comment at one of the blog stops (1 per day), you will be entered into my giveaway!  The more comments you leave (the more entries you get), the more chances you have to win.  Details are also at WATCH NONNIE WRITE!

Thanks again for having me and I wish you all much love, peace and great reads!

CONTACT:
General Blog
Parenting Blog
Nonnie’s Book Store – Signed Copies & more
Twitter:  @nonniejules

BOOKS:
“The Good Mommies’ Guide to Raising (Almost) Perfect Daughters,”
100 Tips On Raising Daughters Everyone Can’t Help But Love!
www.amazon.com/dp/B00CP62O56
www.createspace.com/4355124

TGMG on BN counter med

“Daydream’s Daughter, Nightmare’s Friend
www.amazon.com/dp/B00GLM2VVM

DDNF1 - Copy

TRAILERS:

“THE GOOD MOMMIES’ GUIDE …”
“Daydream’s Daughter, Nightmare’s Friend”

I hope you have enjoyed today’s guest interview. I certainly did! I highly recommend you visiting the above links. You won’t regret it! Come back and join us next week for another marvelous interview.

Until next time…………………………………………

3 thoughts on “Interview #9 with Nonnie Jules”

Leave a Reply

