Interview #7 with Jennifer Chow

Good afternoon, bloggers! Welcome to another edition of Featured Guest Interview! Today, we have Jennifer J. Chow. We will be discussing her life as a writer, as well as her debut novel. “The 228 Legacy” has received wonderful reviews, sharing multigenerational viewpoints in a “beautifully told story.” So sit back and enjoy, yet another fabulous interview.

1)  How did you become an author?
I’ve always enjoyed writing and tried to do it alongside schooling and jobs. When I entered a new life transition, motherhood, I decided to also investigate writing as a career.

2)  What inspires your writing?
I get inspired by everything around me. Sometimes it’s an image or a turn of phrase that catches my attention. At other times, it’s an intriguing premise or situation.

3)  What part of writing do you find most exhilarating?
I like being able to bend sentences and play with words. I also enjoy creating characters out of thin air.

4)  What can readers expect from your debut novel “The 228 Legacy”?
It’s an intriguing story inspired by a true historical event in Taiwan. It explores the bonds between mothers and daughters, and the secrets we hold within families. 

small front cover(1)

5)  Who are your favorite authors? Favorite books?
Lisa See & Amy Tan, for their detailed look into Chinese lives. I also admire Kazuo Ishiguro for his ability to create intricate worlds and craft artistic sentences. My favorite book as a child was Charlotte’s Web, and I still think it’s a timeless tale of innocence and friendship.

6)  What advice would you give to an aspiring writer?
Read. Write. Repeat. Reading other authors will help you absorb their skilled techniques. Writing consistently means that you’ll put in the hard work to perfect your craft.

7)  Are you currently working on any projects?
I am in the process of revising a mystery and finishing up a separate story.

8)  Aside from writing, what are your passions in life? What do you hold close to your heart?
My children. I love seeing joy in the simplest of things through their eyes. I’m also really invested in social justice issues, particularly concerning the older population.

9)  Where do you see yourself in 5 years?
I hope to have a stable writing career with a number of books that I’m proud of and that positively affect readers’ hearts.

10) Is there anything else you would like to add for the readers?
Thank you for reading and indulging in your imagination. I don’t think people realize how wonderful it is for an author to receive a personal note or a positive review of their work. It really nourishes us. 

For more information on this talented lady, visit her website. ~ www.jenniferjchow.com ~
You can also connect with her through Google+ ~ google.com/+JenniferJChow ~

I hope you enjoyed today’s interview. Thank you for taking time to read about Jennifer. I hope you’ll do yourself a favor and head straight to Amazon to purchase her book.

Until next time…………………………………

Leave a Reply

