Interview #5 with Suzan Collins

Good morning, bloggers!

Allow me to introduce our next featured guest, Suzan Collins. Suzan is a woman of many talents. She writes both fiction and non-fiction. She is also a trainer and consultant in health and social care. She just released her newest book, “Beyond My Control: Why the Health and Social Care System Need Not Have Failed My Mother.” In the interview below, you will get a small taste of what you can find in her book. Sit back and enjoy another fabulous interview with an even more fabulous person………

1)  How did you become an author?

I used to manage care homes and I recognized there was a gap in the training delivered and that needed for my staff team. To fill this gap I wrote some open learning workbooks, which staff could read pieces and answer questions [to test their knowledge] and could complete at their own pace and at a time that suited them. I have had 6 workbooks published by Jessica Kingsley Publishers.

Supporting Positive Behaviour          ISBN: 978-1-84905-073-9
Supporting Relationships and Friendships          ISBN: 978-1-84905-072-2
Safeguarding Adults          ISBN: 978-1-84310-928-0
Reflecting On and Developing Your Practice          ISBN: 978-1-84310-930-3
Health and Safety           ISBN: 978-1-84310-929-7
Effective Communication          ISBN: 978-1-84310-927-3

2)  What inspires you to write?

Usually to impart knowledge to others

3)  Your book, “Beyond My Control: Why the Health and Social Care System Need Not Have Failed My Mother”, was just released. Tell us about it.

 Blurb

With 33 years’ experience in health and social care Suzan Collins believed she could ensure good care for her mother, and her family relied on her to do so. She was actually delivering training on best practice when she was first contacted with the news her mother had broken her leg at her nursing home and been transferred to hospital.

This is the story of what followed- the gradual revelation of a whole ongoing chain of bad practice and poor care that Suzan, with all her knowledge and experience of ‘the system’, could not influence.

In this highly topical book, Suzan shares her story from her personal and professional perspectives and looks ahead to how we can all contribute to keeping vulnerable people in health and social care system safe from harm.

Beyond My Control: Why the Health and Social Care System Need Not Have Failed My Mother
ISBN-13: 978-1781610282.

BMC Full cover

Published by Hammersmith Health Books.

5)  Since it is a true story, one on such a personal level, did you have difficulty writing it?

Yes, I did. Lots of different emotions. And as it’s a true story I had to ensure I got everything correct

6)  What do you hope others receive from reading it?
I wrote the book to tell the story but also to inform readers on what they can do if they have a relative receiving care that is poor.

7)  What can we expect to see from you in the future?

I have just written a new series of new open learning workbooks and we are in the process of deciding whether to keep them as individual workbooks or put them together to make one handbook. The title will probably be Handbook for staff who work in Health and Social Care.

8)  What advice would you give to an aspiring writer?

If you want to write, write! I often hear people say, ‘I would like to write a book’ and my response is usually, ‘then write one’.  Start writing it. Some authors plan and some prefer to get everything down on paper [or in the computer]. If you require some support and motivation you may wish to join my FB page https://www.facebook.com/pages/Just-Write-it/366023433491753 and/or contact your local library and see if they hold writing groups, most do.

9)  Is there a charity or organization that you hold close to your heart?

There are a few charities and an organization that I hold close to my heart and these are [in no particular order]-

Age UK, Alzheimer’s Society, United Response and the RSPCA.

10)  Anything else you would like to add for the viewers?

I would like to thank my readers for purchasing my books and for people who wish to read it but does not want to buy it, they could ask their local library to get it in. I would also like to thank my readers for their feedback, either via my website or in a review on Amazon. Amazon reviews are very important!

 Literary fest

You can find Suzan on these sites:
Website: www.spcconsultancy.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Suzan-Collins-author-page/186401074847655
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/SPC-Consultancy-Training-Suzan-Collins/146096555424838
Twitter: @suzancollins
Blog: http://suzancollins.wordpress.com/

Where you can find Suzan’s books:
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Suzan-Collins/e/B0037DXY46/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1359380969&sr=1-2-ent
http://www.amazon.com/Suzan-Collins/e/B0037DXY46/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1383046939&sr=1-2-ent
http://www.waterstones.com/waterstonesweb/products/suzan+collins/beyond+my+control/9828297/
http://www.eddingtonhook.com/display.asp?isb=9781781610282&

 Thanks for stopping by! Until next time, lovelies………………………

2 Comments

  1. Pingback: Interview with ‘My Life’ | Suzan Collins

  2. As I work in care of the elderly too, I am often taken back by what is going on in the care sector and how shocking things can be. I look forward to reading Suzan’s book which I have ordered and am awaiting delivery of, it must be very sad and a hard book for her to write, I am sure lesson’s can be learnt and I wish her every success.

Leave a Reply

