Weekly Review #19

Good morning, bloggers! A very Happy Monday to you all.

 

I am writing today with quite a bit of energy. I started my day with cleaning. The result of Saturday night’s party, which was a success might I add. We had an absolute blast! I love being surrounded by family and friends.

Okay………so that’s not entirely true. It wasn’t exactly what I had planned on. The party, that is. It seems as though every time we decide to have a get together, it never turns out as we had hoped. Chad has gotten to the point of acceptance, no matter what happens. Me, on the other hand, I take things a little more personally. When I tell someone I will be somewhere, then I will be. I like to follow through on my promises, unlike a lot of people we associate with. But I don’t want to harp on this subject too much. I just wanted to quickly voice my opinion. Overall the party was fun and everyone that actually showed up seemed to enjoy themselves. I suppose that is what should matter most. I know…….blah, blah, blah. Come on, I am a girl. I have to gripe occasionally or it just wouldn’t be normal! (I know you’re smiling now!)

 

Moving on…………all we have left now is Halloween night. We get to entertain –and scare– the little trick or treaters. I can’t wait for that. Last year was absolutely crazy! But in the best possible way! This year we’ll have some help with passing out candy so Chad and I both can take part in the frightening of little goblins and ghosts. :)

Since everything is decorated from the party, I have the week off! I can finally get down to business with A Shining Moment and my writing. Maybe even work on AdvoCare. It seems like I have had no progress in any of those for the last month or so. And I know once Thanksgiving and Christmas get closer, my time will once again be monopolized by the holidays. But until then, I can work and do as I please. So hopefully next week I will have a great deal to report on my businesses.

 

For this week’s review, I have another book request from Author Alliance.

Don’t Lock Me Away by Bethany Brook is about Louisa, who was born into a privileged English family in the early 1900’s. We get to see her grow up in a family where Christian beliefs are of most importance, and when rules are not followed then discipline is a must. It’s quite evident that, in this time, social class barriers do exist and are enforced.

Those class barriers are the reason Louisa’s world is turned upside down. She falls in love with the gardener’s son, Edward. They plan to run away to Australia where they can happily live together. When their secret is discovered, Louisa finds herself locked away in St.Mary’s, a home for morally endangered women. She is treated horribly and there seems to be no hope of escaping. For when she does attempt to escape, she is sent to St. Christina’s, which is rumored to be much worse. All she can do is hope for a miracle, and one day pray she is reunited with her one true love.

This is a wonderful book. It is very well-written and has a nice element of both suspense and drama. Its obvious the author did a great deal of research. The characters, the dialog, and even the experiences in the penitentiaries were all quite realistic. I had a difficult time putting the book down, eager to see what would happen next. The relationship between Louisa and Edward was heartwarming. They have a deep passion and love for one another and they won’t let anything get in the way of them being together. Definitely a great read!

 

Just a quick note of appreciation. A big thanks to all my followers, old and new. I am very grateful for you sticking around and I thoroughly hope you take pleasure in my blog. I do enjoy receiving comments, as well as book recommendations. And I still have dates available for my Wednesday Interviews. So if you or anyone you know would be interested in being featured on my blog, please don’t hesitate to let me know! Thank you all! Have a blessed and enjoyable week!

 

Until next time…………………love & blessings!

Leave a Reply

