Author Interview, Books, Interview

Interview #1 with DB Corey

Good morning, bloggers! Welcome to my first author interview. Thanks to Author Alliance, I have been introduced to many wonderful authors. I have worked with some of the nicest people you could imagine. And I would say nothing less of today’s author, DB Corey. He is such a pleasure to work with and talk with. He is an incredible author and person, as you can tell from the interview below. In my opinion, he has the potential to be the next big thing. We just need to get the word out about how remarkable his writing skills are.

 

Question 1:  How did you become an author?

Someone challenged me to write a book. My wife, actually, but she wasn’t my wife at the time. She lived in Virginia and I hailed from Baltimore. We did a lot of corresponding via email. She said my emails were so good I should write a book, but in retrospect, I think she just wanted to keep me in nights.

Question 2:  What inspires you?

Things I take exception with. Things I’d like to fix. Things like the judicial system, the government, how Rights never seem to apply to the victims. Things that have been twisted to become unrecognizable from the original, and no longer serve their intended purpose.

Question 3:  Chain of Evidence was your debut novel. Where did you get the story idea? What kind of research did you do to create such an intriguing crime thriller?

Thank you, Marly. You are too kind. I got the idea watching the news one evening. They had a segment of a woman’s body being rolled into the Coroner’s lab through the back door. I said to my then girlfriend, Maggie, “I wonder what really goes on in there.” She told me I had a sick mind.

As far as research, I did a great deal. I knew nothing about autopsies or evidence handling, or police procedures for that matter. But I had the internet, and I actually chatted with some of the folks down at OCME in Baltimore. I would have loved a tour, but that never happened.

Question 4:  What part of writing do you find most exhilarating?

I’ve given this a bit of thought, Marly, and I’d have to say it’s the scenes I see in my head—the ones that get me up at night and have readers turn the page. Any writer will tell you that they know where the story starts and where it stops, and that the parts in between are the journey. I see the scenes in between; the minor climaxes that build to the larger, final one. I scurry to get to them, writing the filler scenes that paint the pictures. Once there, I relish in them. They are to me as important as any character or setting or plot line.

Question 5:  Who are your favorite authors? Favorite books?

Flynn, Clancy, Patterson, King, Isles Cornwell, DeMille—and now Gilstrap and Deaver, two greats I recently met at a conference, just to name a few.

Books? Red Storm Rising, Patriot Games, True Evil, any Alex Cross novel, Term Limits, The Lion’s Game, High Treason, and believe it or not, The Old Man and the Sea. Read it in high school. There are more but I can’t name them all.

Question 6:  What advice would you give to an aspiring writer?

I’m not sure I’m qualified to advise others, having published just one book, but my new friend John Gilstrap said about his first book, “Once is lucky, twice is success.” I paraphrase, of course, but his point was, if you can repeat your first success, you can count yourself a writer. I believe that if you put in the work, you can write a book. Its quality has a bit to do with talent, but more to do with hard work. And believe me, writing is hard work. If you’re going to do it, do it all the way. There will be disappointments, humiliation, and discouragement. It comes with the territory. Grow a thick skin. You’ll need it.

Was that too much?

Question 7:  Are you currently working on any projects?

Several, actually. Another crime thriller with a vigilante slant, and on the back burner I’ve started a YA novel with a political base. If I ever get the time, I want to resurrect an old fashion PI I created some years back. I wrote him in the vein of “The Cheap Detective,” and “Murder by Death.” Two of my absolute favorites. I like a bit of humor.

Question 8:  Aside from writing, what are your passions in life?

There used to be so many, but now they’re primarily The Orioles and The Ravens. And some of the new TV shows, if I get time to watch them. And of course, there’s date night with the wife.

Question 9:  Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

Still above ground, I hope. But as far as writing, I wouldn’t mind making a living at it. Not rich, just comfortable.

Question 10:  I read where 5% of royalties from your book sales are going toward the Wounded Warriors Project, which I must say is very noble. Please tell us more about this organization.

WWP is a charity missioned to assist our war fighters who come back from the battlefield injured, either physically or mentally. They provide needed services for those blessed people when our government falls shamefully short. I contacted the WWP corporate offices twice regarding donation of royalties, but heard nothing back. I don’t know if they don’t want to use the WWP name to sell stuff (they already do, actually) or if I’m just not big enough. So I retracted that statement from my “brand” if you will. I don’t want folks to get the wrong idea. I do, however, pledge to WWP on a monthly basis as a private citizen and former Navy flier. The men and women in uniform are special to me, and I hold them in my heart and in my mind.

On a personal note, I heard today that Tom Clancy passed away in a Baltimore hospital. It saddens me, and I would be remiss not to mention what an inspiration he was to me. The literary world has lost a truly great writer. I will miss him.

 

 

For more information about this author, please visit his websites — dbcorey.com or dbcorey.blogspot.com.

Upcoming Events:

Oct 12, 2013 10:30-5:00, W. MD Independent Lit Festival–DB Corey on the future of books for readers – 3pm ​
November 8-10, 2013 – N. VA Christmas Market – Dulles Expo Center – Chantilly, VA​
March 22, 2014 – all day – Virginia Book Festival – Charlottesville, VA

 

 

To conclude, following is my review of his debut novel……

Chain of Evidence by DB Corey is about Detective Moby Truax. The detective has a lot of things against him……he is nearing the age of retirement, losing his skills of photographic memory, and possibly headed to a desk job. His most reason case may just put him over the edge. There’s a Cyanide Killer, nicknamed CK, that is murdering the women of his town. Every murder, every clue leads to a dead end. Because of the seriousness of the case (and the before mentioned dead ends), Truax is unwillingly forced to partner with FBI Special Agent Frances Vecchio, who is distractingly good-looking and seems to have her own agenda. Truax is alone in believing there’s a possible copycat. Regardless, Truax follows the chain of evidence no one else sees, leading him to an unexpected conclusion.

Chain of Evidence, I believe, is the first crime thriller I have read. And to be honest, I was thoroughly surprised at how much I enjoyed it. It was quite the page-turner. The story has a nice element of suspense, leaving the reader anxious to see what happens next. You jump right into the story, trying to help Truax solve the case. And just when you think you have it figured out, the author creates another twist. Another notable element of this book is that the characters have unique personalities. Truax is a determined man, facing what feels like personal extinction. Then you have the young and attractive Vecchio, who, at the snap of a finger, gets exactly what she wants and when she wants it. This is especially true when referring to Captain Atkins, who you would never guess is a married man. This book is realistic, suspenseful, and very entertaining………everything a good thriller needs. I could even see it as an addictive TV series one day. All in all, Chain of Evidence is a fantastic book that I would highly recommend. So do yourself a favor and visit http://amzn.to/19wOH5l.

 

 

If you would like to join in on the fun of interviews, don’t hesitate to let me know! I would love for this to become a weekly post. Feel free to send me an email direct to mlh42812@gmail.com.

Until next time………

1 thought on “Interview #1 with DB Corey”

Leave a Reply

